DaveSemm

Caddx NX-8 alarm Monitor

Tue Jun 18, 2013 5:12 pm

Despite being a noob, I have succeeded in turning my Pi into an X10 Web based home controller. Following various directions I've found on the forums, I've installed Apache, OpenSSL, Mochad (to control X10 switches via USB to an X10 controller), and wrote a web site that lets me turn lights on and off. The site is encrypted with SSL and requires a log in, so I'm confidant enough to make some more web sites to handle home security. (I also use crontab to control the lights at specific times. On top of that, I use TightVNC to control the Pi, so it sits in the same cupboard as my home alarm, without a keyboard, mouse or screen.)

For my next project, I'd like to monitor my home alarm system, a Caddx NX-8, using a web site I will write. (It would also email me under certain conditions.) What I need to know is how to eavesdrop on the keypad controller. It has a 2 wire connection to the alarm panel, which I assume is RS232. Although comms to the keypad is 2-way, all I'm interested in (for now) is what the alarm board sends to the keypad when any zone (reed switches, PIR, etc.) opens or closes. Ideally, I'd like to use GPIO pins, rather than a USB to RS232 convertor, to listen to the comms.

Before I begin, I was wondering if anyone has done this. If not, I will begin by connecting a scope to the alarm panel keypad pins and will check out what comes down the line and take it from there...

DaveSemm

Re: Caddx NX-8 alarm Monitor

Wed Jun 19, 2013 4:41 am

FYI: It turns out using GPIO pins for RS232 is simple - it just needs a level convertor, e.g. http://www.davidhunt.ie/?p=3091.

There is also some coding required to use it for general I/O, instead of a console: http://raspberrypihobbyist.blogspot.com ... -port.html.

There is some more information on the Pi's serial ports here: http://lavalink.com/2012/04/more-on-ras ... ial-ports/.

rikb

Sat Jul 06, 2013 1:48 am