parkerhoyes

Raspberry Pi LED Matrix with GPIO

Sun Mar 24, 2013 3:47 am

Hi everyone,

I am a beginner with the Raspberry Pi and with this forum, so if I'm doing anything wrong please let me know ;). I bought a single-colour LED matrix display (https://www.adafruit.com/products/860) and I know how to light up an individual light by wiring up the columns to positive and the rows to negative and I also know how multiplexing works. But, I have a very limited knowledge of the GPIO and I only know how to light up a single or multiple LED's in a parallel circuit by connecting the cathode on the LED to the ground GPIO pin. This means that I can only control where the positive input goes in (on the columns) but I have no way of controlling the negative output (in the rows). I was wondering if anyone could explain it to me or point me in the right direction of a tutorial.

- Thanks, Parker

malakai

Re: Raspberry Pi LED Matrix with GPIO

Sun Mar 24, 2013 8:41 am

Not sure how much help I can be but what will do the multiplexing did you get a chip or are you wanting the Pi to do it all I am not sure if the Pi can all by itself but do think it is possible. There are 17 pins for the Pi to use 8 General purpose and the rest can have other purposes.

First place I think to start is with the library python, C, Java is there one you prefer over the other?
You could start with https://projects.drogon.net/raspberry-pi/wiringpi/ their is something for every language. Probably just start out with controlling one row of lights then more depending on your skill.
http://www.raspians.com - always looking for content feel free to ask to have it posted. Or sign up and message me to become a contributor to the site. Raspians is not affiliated with the Raspberry Pi Foundation. (RPi's + You = Raspians)

parkerhoyes

Sun Mar 24, 2013 2:28 pm

Thanks for the response,