ukscone
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

set_overscan.sh

Fri Mar 08, 2013 9:45 pm

one of my major peeves with config.txt is that you need to reboot after making changes and that's a right PITA when needing to change the overscan values because you've moved your raspberry pi from one place to another and using a different monitor. So just before Christmas I asked Dom if he had an example of how to talk to the GPU (and where the settings in config.txt are store after booting) so I could write something to modify the overscan settings on the fly. He kindly sent me the code to do exactly what I wanted and i wrote a quick & dirty bash script to wrap his program in. I've been using it for a couple of months and yesterday I decided to tidy it up a bit and release it as my itch is well and truly scratched.

So I present to you set_overscan :) https://github.com/ukscone/set_overscan

It's still a pretty naff script but it does it's job and I am working on making it a bit nicer. The script is licensed under the same license that is in Dom's code which seems to be some form of BSD (but read it yourself as I maybe wrong) although personally I don't care what you do with the script as long as i am not blamed for anything that happens if you use it.

magno23

Re: set_overscan.sh

Fri Apr 05, 2013 9:32 pm

can explain how to use/install this?

wdehoog

Tue Nov 05, 2013 7:09 pm

Thanks for this.

First I thought it only worked for the console and for X (the thing that appears after startx) but not for SDL games. However that was when I started the game from remote login (ssh). When the game is started on the PI itself setting the overscan does work. (I used it to get gpsp displayed correctly.)

I copied from your script to create a small script to get and/or set the overscan without modifying /boot/config.txt.

Code: Select all

# Check for mailbox & if not existing create it.
if [ ! -c mailbox ]; then
       mknod mailbox c 100 0
fi

print_overscan() {