User avatar
wellsm89
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 9:40 am
Location: United Kingdom

Apple Cinema DIsplay

Thu Jan 31, 2013 9:38 pm

Hi,

Has anyone had any luck using an Apple Cinema Display connected to a raspberry pi? There are a few forum posts but no one has an answer,

Cheers

lude
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 4:53 pm

Re: Apple Cinema DIsplay

Fri Feb 01, 2013 7:11 pm

No reason it shouldn't work. You just need a male HDMI to Female DVI adapter to plug the screen in.

threecee
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 4:08 am

Re: Apple Cinema DIsplay

Thu Feb 07, 2013 4:48 pm

anyone have any luck? i've tried many different combinations of settings in the /boot/config.txt file for HDMI options, but no luck. the display continually flashes it's status LED, indicating unsupported HDMI format.

elatllat
Posts: 1337
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2011 5:05 pm

Re: Apple Cinema DIsplay

Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:42 pm

The 2560x1440 display will work off a 1920x1280 signal (my mac offers it as an option) but I'm not sure what other options it needs...maybe related:
https://plus.google.com/u/0/10215069322 ... QsCY7ErAL4
SBC with 32GB RAM: https://hardkernel.com

FAQ : https://raspberrypi.stackexchange.com

Unanswered: https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/search.php?search_id=unanswered

threecee
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 4:08 am

Re: Apple Cinema DIsplay

Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:52 pm

unfortunately, i have a *very* old apple cinema display: circa 200 model M8149 (which doesn't even show up on apple's support site).

BarryLegg
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 7:14 am

Re: Apple Cinema DIsplay

Mon Apr 01, 2013 7:34 am

Hi there, I can shed some light on this;

If you have a the older style Cinema Display (pre-Thunderbolt) and the status light gives 3 flashes then a pause; it's not going to work.

That display only accepts a digital signals. You need a separate breakout box to convert the analogue signals from the Pi to digital in order to work with this display.

These devices do exist, but they're pricey. I saw someone use one to get an Xbox to work with this display. I believe a company called Blackmagic make just such a device.

The newer Thunderbolt displays will accept analogue signals, but they cost 32 times more than the computer you're going to be running it with.

Return to “Other projects”