Pascal
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2012 7:23 am

Re: VirtualBox simulator and emulator - now with added Cow

Sat Oct 20, 2012 7:29 am

Hello everyone,

I'm new here and tryed above text in the first post.
I'm new in this and i tryed to install the virtual image.
This wend fine.

But at this point, i'm stuck.:
If you wish to emulate an actual ARM device, launch LXTerminal and:

./getDebian
I get this message.:
bash: ./getDebian: No such file or directory
what is wrong?

Sorry for my bad english but i'm from another country.

creatron
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 7:32 am

Re: VirtualBox simulator and emulator - now with added Cow

Tue Oct 23, 2012 7:38 am

The key map can be changed to edit file /etc/defaults/console-setup
change line
XKBLAYOUT="gd" to something like
XKBLAYOUT="us"
and reboot ..

v1ctt0or
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 5:09 pm

Re: VirtualBox simulator and emulator - now with added Cow

Wed Oct 24, 2012 5:11 pm

Pascal wrote:Hello everyone,

I'm new here and tryed above text in the first post.
I'm new in this and i tryed to install the virtual image.
This wend fine.

But at this point, i'm stuck.:
If you wish to emulate an actual ARM device, launch LXTerminal and:

./getDebian
I get this message.:
bash: ./getDebian: No such file or directory
what is wrong?

Sorry for my bad english but i'm from another country.
Ive got the same problem Nick, can you help us?

Thx & GreatJob!

krsuman
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 5:46 am

Re: VirtualBox simulator and emulator - now with added Cow

Sun Jan 06, 2013 5:58 am

I have recently starting playing around with RaspberryPi on Emulators (QEmu). After sometime, i realized that QEmu does not emulate the USB devices connected to Host computer and hence the devices are not available to the Raspberry Pi.

After searching around over internet, I read somewhere that VirtualBox supports virtualization of USB devices. So while searching for a VirtualBox image of the RaspberryPi, i stumbled upon this thread.

I know there has been no activity on this thread, in a long time, but hoping someone would point me to a new location (if any) from where I can download the image.

The link (http://dl.dropbox.com/u/60623239/Raspbe ... ualBox.zip) present in this thread, right now has only a torrent file which I do not want to use.

Thanks in Advance,

hillda01
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 8:17 pm

Re: VirtualBox simulator and emulator - now with added Cow

Sat Jan 26, 2013 8:20 pm

Hi,

I've downloaded this via a torrent program and set it up via the latest copy of virtual box but when the Raspberry Pi boots I always have to run

sudo dhclient to force it to pick up an IP address.

Actually, I just found out if I re-import the .ova file a second time to create a second copy of Raspberry Pi the second copy doesn't automatically get an IP address, and I have to do a dhclient each time...
Any ideas why this is happening?

Regards,

Dave.

nicomichael
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 6:21 pm

Re: VirtualBox simulator and emulator - now with added Cow

Mon Feb 25, 2013 6:52 pm

Congratulations for an excelent VM
Here are few ideas to make it work better:


1 edit your VM change the number of virtual CPUs to half of what is available
( ->Settings ->System -> Processor)
2. Change your network adapter to Bridged
(->Network ->Adapter 1 Tab ->Attached To: select Bridged Adapter
->Name : now select your current network device (I selected WLAN0 )
Press the OK button


Now Start your VM in the terminal type the following command:
sudo ifconfig
If you are connected to a network with a DHCP server (your wireless access point if set correctly ) you should have an IP address with the required IP range

If this is too technical then run this command:
ping www.google.com
you should get pings to the google site Press the Controll and C keys to stop the pings

regards
Nico

tiredoftry
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 5:14 pm

Re: VirtualBox simulator and emulator - now with added Cow

Fri Mar 01, 2013 5:17 pm

I had the same issue with the './getDebian' command. Just skip it and go to the next commands 'cd debian' and './launchDebian'.

paulca
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 11:52 am

Re: VirtualBox simulator and emulator - now with added Cow

Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:04 pm

Hi All, I've been asked to do a software project to centralise some data within a small organisation, basically requires a central database and an application server. There was some concern about keeping a central server running all the time, and I thought it might be cool to try and do this on the PI. That way I could give them a little black box they could secrete away and never worry about.

I read some forums about people who'd had success running JBoss AS 7 on the pi, and SQLite seems to work ok with JDBC, but what I'd really like to do is develop the system on a VirtualBox VM, that way if the PI is struggling, or they decide they do want to run it on a x86 system I can tell them to install VirtualBox and just give them the VM. No installation/setup hassles etc.

From what I've read, to use Java on the PI I need the "soft float" distro of raspbian.... Could someone kindly point me to an OVA file I can import into VirtualBox that would make it easy to develop the system, then at the end of the project flip it onto an SD card and hand it over ?

jerrys
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2013 2:08 am

Re: VirtualBox simulator and emulator - now with added Cow

Sun Sep 01, 2013 2:20 am

I know it's been a while since anyone has posted here, but I'm hoping someone who knows more than I can answer this.

I've installed the torrent in VirtualBox, but can't access the internet from the emulator. With the default network adapter setting of NAT, I get the ip address 10.0.2.15 in both the Ubuntu system and the Pi emulator. I can ping, etc. from Ubuntu, but nothing from the Pi.

Changing the network adapter to Bridged and setting it for my wireless card, and the Ubuntu box gets an ip from my internal LAN (as it should), and can still access the internet. The Pi emulator still gets a lease for 10.0.2.15.

The other odd thing is the Pi gets its ip from a DHCP server at 10.0.2.2, but there is no such server on my network. Where is it getting the ip from?

I'm, thinking of assigning a static ip to see if that helps. But I shouldn't need to do that.

Any ideas, anyone?

TIA.

jerrys
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2013 2:08 am

Re: VirtualBox simulator and emulator - now with added Cow

Sun Sep 01, 2013 2:26 pm

Well, I tried a static IP address on my intranet. As I expected, no change - I can still access the internet from the ubuntu box, but not the RaspberryPi emulator. Any ideas, anyone?

Again, TIA.
Jerry

jerrys
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2013 2:08 am

Re: VirtualBox simulator and emulator - now with added Cow

Thu Sep 05, 2013 5:55 pm

Solved - I don't know what I did, but after a bunch of fooling around with settings in VirtualBox, Ubuntu and Debian, it is now working. I wish I could figure out what combination of things fixed it, but for now I'm not going to touch it!

the_tank
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 9:50 am

Re: VirtualBox simulator and emulator - now with added Cow

Sat Nov 30, 2013 10:12 am

Being an absolute newbie to VirtualBox and RaspberryPi I was surprised to see how easy it is to get everything up and running with your appliance.
I installed VirtualBox 4.2.18, imported your RaspberryPi appliance and just everything is working perfectly. Great!
I just wanted to share a strange behavior in combination with VirtualBox 4.3.4, which was just released yesterday. After updating to VirtualBox 4.3.4 I was not able to get the RaspberryPi emulation to work any more. There's an error message telling that "VT-x is disabled in BIOS" when launching the emulation. In the VirtualBox settings the respective option is grayed out. I went back to VirtualBox 4.2.18 and now I'm enjoying RaspberryPi again.
Thanks a lot for this great stuff.

Despopol
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2014 7:52 am

Re: VirtualBox simulator and emulator - now with added Cow

Fri Oct 17, 2014 8:00 am

I tried the link provided for the virualbox image of the pi simulator and it is redirected to HTTPS
I get this message:

The resource was found at http://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/6062 ... ualBox.zip; you should be redirected automatically.

then:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/606 ... ualBox.zip

With a 404 error page not found

NA7KR
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2015 4:04 pm

Re: VirtualBox simulator and emulator - now with added Cow

Mon Jul 27, 2015 4:12 pm

Where can I download links are dead?

Gunray1231
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 9:30 pm

Re: VirtualBox simulator and emulator - now with added Cow

Mon Feb 01, 2016 9:33 pm

When ever i try to click the link to go to the virtural box image i find that the dropbox website is down
is their an alternative website?

tgwaste
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2013 7:15 pm

Re: VirtualBox simulator and emulator - now with added Cow

Sun Sep 11, 2016 9:58 pm

Hi,
When using Bridge (Airport) mode in VirtualBox (which is needed for the VM to get the proper ip I get:

[email protected]:~/debian$ ./launchDebian
oss: Could not initialize DAC
oss: Failed to open `/dev/dsp'
oss: Reason: No such file or directory
oss: Could not initialize DAC
oss: Failed to open `/dev/dsp'
oss: Reason: No such file or directory
audio: Failed to create voice `lm4549.out'
VNC server running on `::1:5900'

How do I connect to ::1:5900 ?

The network seems OK:

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 08:00:27:5b:26:64
inet addr:10.0.1.36 Bcast:10.0.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: 2600:8800:2380:4:a00:27ff:fe5b:2664/64 Scope:Global
inet6 addr: fe80::a00:27ff:fe5b:2664/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:40 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:39 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:4297 (4.2 KB) TX bytes:4510 (4.5 KB)

zombiehunterpro
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2016 3:05 am

Re: VirtualBox simulator and emulator - now with added Cow

Thu Oct 06, 2016 8:37 pm

Does it cost money or have any malware?



Return to “Other projects”