dracolytch

Re: Blog about working with Raspberry Pi for Windows users

Tue Jan 17, 2012 4:15 am

Hey, I'm a windows developer with minimal Linux experience. That said, I'm pretty dead set on getting / using / developing for a Raspberry Pi. I'm using this blog space to start documenting my journey, for all the other folks who may be trying to do the same.

http://dracosoftware.blogspot.com/

dracolytch

Tue Jan 17, 2012 4:47 pm

Ok, so I have a general intro post up, and a post about getting the development VM set up. I have one more post which I'm hoping to finish later today about compiling your first program for the Raspberry Pi...

What other things can we DO at this point (other than salivate), since we don't have the hardware or a RasPi VM?

dracolytch

Mon Jan 23, 2012 2:58 am

Ok, I got my Hello, World tutorial up. Yes, I know most of you know how to do this as second-nature, but part of the point here is to entice Win developers into the Linux space considering the attractiveness of the rPi as a tool to hack with.

http://dracosoftware.blogspot......world.html

ukscone
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Mon Jan 23, 2012 3:29 am

looks very nice. but the vm you are using has been deprecated and you should update to the new one though as it fixes a few buglets, quirks, uses a real distro tootfs and is a more pleasant experience.

http://russelldavis.org/2012/0.....t-vm-v0-2/

dracolytch

Mon Jan 23, 2012 6:34 am

Those updates have been made.

Also with the help of ukscone and ShiftPlusOne, we have a more involved tutorial... How to build nSnake, which requires a precompiled library.

http://dracosoftware.blogspot......sting.html

MattHawkinsUK

Mon Jan 23, 2012 11:03 am

For some reason I can't access your blog from work. It is categorised as "Adult/Mature Content" You can check the rating here : http://sitereview.bluecoat.com/

If you feel this is the wrong category you can get it re-reviewed.