DeLoMan

Connecting to a WiFi Backup/Reverse Camera

Sun Oct 14, 2018 1:18 am

I am new to Pi, but I am creating a carputer to replace my in-dash iPad. I currently have a WiFi reverse camera installed that I can access on my iPad via the “RFK WiFi” app from the App Store. Basically there is a module installed with the camera that creates a fake WiFi network that the iPad is connected to, and the app displays the video though it.

My question—how can I access this WiFi video feed on the Pi? Obviously I would need to have the Pi connected to the fake WiFi network that the module generates. Is there a specific app anyone recommends to view the video? That’s where I’m lost currently.

pcmanbob

Re: Connecting to a WiFi Backup/Reverse Camera

Wed Oct 17, 2018 11:18 pm

If your backup camera works along the same principles as an IP security camera you might be able to use motioneye software to view the output from the camera, but its a big may be as we have no idea what your reversing camera is outputting or any information on the Wi-Fi setup its using.
Remember we want information.......................no information no help
The use of crystal balls & mind reading is not supported

DeLoMan

Thu Oct 18, 2018 2:49 pm

Thanks for the suggestion, I will try it out! The camera I am using in my DeLorean is this one, connected to an in-dash iPad:

http://4ucam.com/iphone-android-ipad-WI ... amera.html

pcmanbob

Thu Oct 18, 2018 3:15 pm

DeLoMan wrote:
Thanks for the suggestion, I will try it out! The camera I am using in my DeLorean is this one, connected to an in-dash iPad:

Well it tells us it a standard Wi-Fi network set up but absolutely no info on connecting to camera signal or anything about its output, so its still a big may be...... unless the app has more connection details in it.
Remember we want information.......................no information no help
The use of crystal balls & mind reading is not supported

DeLoMan

Thu Oct 18, 2018 5:45 pm

pcmanbob wrote: