jakasmode

home automatization raspberry pi

Wed Sep 26, 2018 6:51 pm

Hello
I'm new to the raspberry, and i decided to build a home automatization system(using relays) with raspberry pi3+. I'm wondering if it's possible to build android app in android studio that will work on raspberry?
best regards jaka

Andyroo

Re: home automatization raspberry pi

Wed Sep 26, 2018 10:23 pm

Do not know about the android development (guess is you would develop on a PC in Visual Studio) but do not use relays for home control unless you are a qualified electrican - there are lots of safer ways available covered in these and home automation forums.
Need Pi spray - these things are breeding in my house...

jakasmode

Thu Sep 27, 2018 6:16 pm

i've got an electrician for relays and other stuff. I'm just curious which program is the best for this kind of project.

Andyroo

Thu Sep 27, 2018 9:59 pm

You can get a quick start with https://www.openhab.org :lol:

Have you read https://www.raspberrypi.org/magpi/issues/70/ - PDF or printed available (and the print supports the foundation).

PhatFil

Fri Sep 28, 2018 1:30 am

openhab and domoticz are 2 mature and established home automation systems that i am aware of, Both have a growing community of supportive users too. For a slightly quicker start however i opted to start my journey in home automation control with Node Red as a central control system. (still a bit of learning involved tho..)

Instead of connecting input and outputs directly to my Pi Ive chosen to employ wireless coms to receive both sensor inputs and send control commands. the Pi sits as a headless controller, The Node Red Desktop providing a gui web interface.