generalenthu

Re: Do I need a gertboard to run a servo

Mon Dec 19, 2011 3:28 am

I am a complete hardware newbie - please pardon my ignorance.

I need the ability to mechanically turn a switch on or off. The switch is on an device and I am planning to install a servo motor (probably with its own power) next to this switch. I need r-pi to activate the servo.

Can I just connect the servo to the GPIO ports and program r-pi or do I need to get a gertboard / teensy in between. Obviously I am not looking for high precision from the servo.

tntexplosivesltd

Mon Dec 19, 2011 4:32 am

You could wire up a relay to do the switching for you. Cut out the middle man.
If you are going to use a servo, you can directly connect the servo to the R-Pi. You won't need a gertboard

abishur

Mon Dec 19, 2011 4:39 am

Yes, you can access things like this without the gertboard. The nice part of the gertboard, however, is that he took care of all the current/voltage protection so you don't have to worry about frying your board. With anything we custom make there are two issue we have to address.

1) The GPIO put out a *very* low current output, so you need something to boost that up to drive a servo or relay.

2) voltage/current protection. Since you're upping the current and possibly the voltage according to your needs you need to make sure that your device is protected against that current suddenly go back down to the board

As long as you handle those two main points, then you can make your own boards. Well I suppose you could ignore those two points and theoretically be fine, but it could end very poorly for you in the long run ;)
Dear forum: Play nice ;-)

generalenthu

Mon Dec 19, 2011 6:20 am

Very clear explanation. Thank you. My only concern is that the gertboard looks like overkill for what i am trying to accomplish (also, assembling the kit seems scary). Are there any halfway solutions / preferably off-the-shelf which would avoid frying r-pi over the long run.