messinwu

Relay connected to GPIO pin

Mon Aug 13, 2012 2:01 pm

Hey everyone

I'm very new to electronics, and very interested in learning. I found this article:

http://www.susa.net/wordpress/2012/06/r ... sing-gpio/

... and decided to get the stuff from Radio Shack and yesterday after a failed attempt due to misunderstanding of the relay posts, I did get it working as intended. Yay!

Now I just want to add an LED to the circuit, to come on when the GPIO is "on". I've read that LED's kind of act like a resistor, so could I just replace the resistor in the above design with the LED? Not sure how much resistance they provide. I've ordered a couple strips of "light green" LED's, if that tells you anything.

Or maybe I just put the LED in line between the transistor and the relay?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.... thanks in advance!!

joan

Re: Relay connected to GPIO pin

Mon Aug 13, 2012 2:14 pm

All the circuits I've seen show a resistor with the LED to limit the current flow. Without the resistor the LED would act like a fuse. A short, bright, life followed by death.

Add the LED in series before or after the resistor. It may be dim though with a 1K resistor.

You might need to lower the resistor to 500 or so to make the LED glow. Whether that would screw up your transistor/relay operation I'm not competent to judge.

mahjongg
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Mon Aug 13, 2012 2:16 pm

No the LED does not "act like a resistor", LED's are diodes, and drop a more or less constant voltage of 2V (for a red LED) over them when a reasonable current (1mA) runs through them.