cyanarnofsky

3 Screen Display Extention

Tue Jul 31, 2012 11:43 pm

Hi,

I work in the sign business and tinker on the side. With menu boards going digital I am curious to the possibility of using a Pi in conjunction with USBto"Display Adapter" (prefer hdmi / dvi or vga would work as well ) for example the "Plugable" (http://plugable.com/products/uga-2k-a/) says it supports linux.

Now I would be looking to display JPEG images or still art with very simply animations (scrolling text) or what not, my problem is extending 3 displays....I am sure it is possible but maybe just a little too past me besides using the USB adapters (if those would even work).

Ideas would be fantastic on this, most digital menu board systems run close to $1500 for a sinlge display, using a cheap LCD tv (Apex 32" LCD $199) and fabricating my own bezels, I could in theory run a Pi with 3 of those screens for only about $700 and would allow me to have amazing remote abilities for updating clients menus instantly from anywhere for half the cost.

Anyways I thought it was worth investigating and getting opinions from those with more linux/Rasp Pi knowledge than me :).

labidus

Re: 3 Screen Display Extention

Sat Aug 04, 2012 3:07 pm

Since your post, i checked on ebay and found some similar device for 35$ with shipping working with usb 2 or 3. I will buy one to try it for sure for my mac and pi.

The only issue i can see with this kind of device is the power consumption, its like they are using 500 ma, this is to much for the PI, so you need to use them with a USB HUB, but this is not recommended for video... anyway its something to try out

Signs

Re: 3 Screen Display Extention

Sun Aug 05, 2012 4:32 pm