livetoski78

First time eating Pi...thin client question

Tue Mar 31, 2015 5:18 pm

So I am totally new to the Raspberry Pi, having become interested in them when I saw a bin of Pi 2s for sale next to the Arduino stuffs in MicroCenter. The possibility of having a cheap thin client that will attach to the back of a monitor piqued my curiosity. I have seen similar setups used as point of sale terminals.

My mother needs a new computer, her existing one (Windows XP...lol) being far outdated and starting to experience blue screens. What I would like to do is setup a Pi 2 as a thin client terminal to one of my Windows 7 computers. I've seen where some people have accomplished this using Citrix, VNC, or similar apps. Essentially, she needs a fool proof way to get to the Windows 7 OS (I lovingly call her "computing challenged"). At her age, learning a new OS is not in the cards and I try to keep things as simple as possible (her file folder, Outlook, IE, Word, and Excel accessible right on her desktop).

My question is this... Is it possible to load a terminal session immediately upon turning the machine on and it going through start up? To her, it would basically need to look just like she turned on a windows PC.

I'm sure I'm not the only one who's wanted to do this. Does anyone have a step by step walkthrough of how it can be done? A Google search didn't yield a work instruction.

Thanks! (My mom thanks you too!)

fruitoftheloom

Re: First time eating Pi...thin client question

Tue Mar 31, 2015 5:42 pm

livetoski78 wrote:So I am totally new to the Raspberry Pi, having become interested in them when I saw a bin of Pi 2s for sale next to the Arduino stuffs in MicroCenter. The possibility of having a cheap thin client that will attach to the back of a monitor piqued my curiosity. I have seen similar setups used as point of sale terminals.