DrKawashima

Graphical interface for Monitor Settings

Sun Nov 03, 2013 1:49 pm

The first thing most people boot their Raspberry Pi to the desktop they will have an issue with black borders or a much too low resolution.
This is quite a big problem for many users, and figuring out how to edit boot.config manually isn't very intuitive.

So I thought, why not create a graphical interface to make monitor settings as simple as possible.
A Raspbian equivalent to the settings windows in Windows/Mac.

Just being able to select avaliable resolutions from a a dropdown and click a restart button would be such a huge help for new users.

What do you think?
-First of all: Does something like this already exist or is it being planned to be included in Raspbian?
-Anything special I should consider before even attempting this?
-General feedback is appreciated! Just write a quick comment if you have any issues with the idea, or if you think it's interesting.

About me:
I'm a professional programmer mainly working in web development and dotNet.
So creating a GUI program for Linux will be an interesting challenge (That's the main reason I got my Pi) as the only development I've done in Linux before is som shell scripting and low level C programming.
Last edited by DrKawashima on Sun Nov 03, 2013 10:54 pm, edited 4 times in total.

DrKawashima

Re: Graphical interface for Monitor Settings

Sun Nov 03, 2013 2:06 pm

My plan for the first version of this tool:

1. Dropdown showing all possible resolutions, highlighting the native ones.

1. Simple GUI for modifying basic values like
- Checkbox for setting overscan on/off
- Numeric textboxes for setting overscan top/bottom/left/right

2. Some kind of help wizard with different sections that let's the users identify their problem and try to apply a solution. For instance:
- "black borders?" - disables overscan
- "blanking or no display?" - sets config_hdmi_boost=4