RockSox

Internet Radio Stream Schedule Recorder

Wed May 15, 2013 7:27 pm

Hello,
I'm really new to the Pi, and have basically no experience in Linux or coding. Yes sorry in advance.

I'm trying to setup my Pi to replace a computer which is doing only one function at the moment. I'm curious which is the best way to setup my Pi to have scheduled records of Internet radio streams. Currently have a have a mixture of recordings based on the TuneIn radio schedule, and a manually programmed time. At the end the records they're rendered out as MP3. I'm not interested in ripping individual tracks, just record a whole show and render it.

I have Whezzy up and running, and if there is a GUI or app for the stream recorder the better as I'm not too experienced in command line just yet. Any help to point me in the right direction would be much apperieated.

Thanks

123pame

Re: Internet Radio Stream Schedule Recorder

Wed May 22, 2013 12:10 am

Hi RockSox,

I've been doing what you want to achieve (sans any GUI) for the last couple of months or so. I'm using Arch Linux but the basic principles should remain the same, so I'll try to outline the procedure below and you can take it on from there and adapt it to the particulars of Debian Wheezy if you have to.

Basically, all you'll need is:
  • streamripper (http://sourceforge.net/projects/streamripper/)
    (supports mp3/aac Shoutcast/Icecast streams, and ogg streams)
  • the URL of the Internet Radio stream you want to rip/record
  • crontab entries to automate/schedule the recordings
Hopefully Debian Wheezy has the streamripper package in their repositories, so the first step is to download and install it with:

Code: Select all

apt-get install streamripper