WebKit + Gstreamer + WebGL + Canvas + MSE + EME (PI0/1/2/3)


206 posts   Page 1 of 9   1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 9
by albertd » Tue May 07, 2013 10:53 pm
Hi All,

We're working on getting Qt5 WebKit and Gstreamer working on the RPI using the HTML5 video-tag, Canvas 2D and WebGL. The OS will not contain any desktop environment, pure EGL + OpenGL ES 2.0+ Qt5, if you would like to follow or contribute to the repository hereby the URL:

https://github.com/albertd/buildroot-rpi
https://github.com/Metrological/buildroot
https://github.com/Metrological/buildroot-wpe


Raspberry PI 0/1
Code: Select all
make raspberrypi_wpe_defconfig


Raspberry PI 2/3
Code: Select all
make raspberrypi2_wpe_defconfig


Keep you all posted.

Kind regards,
Albert
Last edited by albertd on Fri Mar 25, 2016 11:31 pm, edited 6 times in total.
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 8:10 pm
by AndyPi » Wed May 08, 2013 7:25 pm
Yes very interested, been trying the bakeqtpi script but cant get webkit going at all. Can you provide naive info. For instance can I build it on ubuntu 12.10 ? Ive typically been using arch, suggestions as to whether the libraries can easily be copied across to arch?

looking forward to progress and experiments

regards

Andy
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 10:24 pm
Location: Gloucestershire,UK
by albertd » Wed May 08, 2013 8:56 pm
Yes, you can build the environment using an Ubuntu machine. Just checkout the repository and make sure you have the correct packages installed on the host system. I think this should be sufficient:

sudo apt-get install build-essential git subversion cvs unzip whois ncurses-dev

Then run:

make rpi_defconfig
make

Cheers,
Albert
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 8:10 pm
by topguy » Thu May 09, 2013 9:53 pm
Great, looking forward to test this.
I've been testing different methods (bsquask, pre-built packages from twolife.be) with variable results.

Which Qt5 release are you using, 5.0.0 or newer ?
User avatar
Posts: 2806
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 11:46 am
Location: Trondheim, Norway
by albertd » Thu May 09, 2013 10:35 pm
We're using the Qt 5.0.2 releases. Just updated the github with some initial work on the HTML5 video player.

Kind regards,
Albert
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 8:10 pm
by topguy » Fri May 10, 2013 9:23 am
I really thought 10GB free space was going to be enough for this build. But it seems I have to make a new disk for my virtual machine.

How much space does the standard build need ? I think I only added omxplayer my self.
User avatar
Posts: 2806
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 11:46 am
Location: Trondheim, Norway
by albertd » Fri May 10, 2013 1:44 pm
Normally I generate a 20GB VM using Ubuntu Server Edition. It consumes a lot because of Qt WebKit and the Toolchain.

Cheers,
Albert
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 8:10 pm
by tap5 » Tue May 21, 2013 9:17 pm
Would you consider providing a recent sd card image of this result?
I'm very curious to try it out but don't want to build myself at this point...
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2013 12:18 pm
by topguy » Wed May 22, 2013 11:39 pm
tap5 wrote:Would you consider providing a recent sd card image of this result?
I'm very curious to try it out but don't want to build myself at this point...


I can give you a link to an archive of newly built files:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/610 ... 513.tar.gz

This archive contains the files you need to create a working SD card by following the instructions here:
https://github.com/albertd/buildroot-rpi#deploying

I don't know about a way of doing this on a windows machine but you can probably do it on a Pi if you have an USB-SD-cardreader plus an already working rasbian on a different SD card.

Note!!: These files are right now completely untested, I havent had time to make an sd-card myself.
User avatar
Posts: 2806
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 11:46 am
Location: Trondheim, Norway
by albertd » Sat May 25, 2013 4:06 pm
tap5 wrote:Would you consider providing a recent sd card image of this result?
I'm very curious to try it out but don't want to build myself at this point...


Hi tap5,

Hereby a build that was generated today with all last updates:
http://www.metrological.com/rpi/buildro ... 25.tar.bz2

Kind regards,
Albert
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 8:10 pm
by tap5 » Sat May 25, 2013 6:43 pm
Thanks, that's very nice of you to notify me.
I won't be able to try it out yet as I'm busy moving to another flat right now, but I will try it out as soon as I'm settled in the new place!
I'm very excited about trying out QT5Webkit on a minimal distro.
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2013 12:18 pm
by albertd » Sun May 26, 2013 9:53 am
Good luck with your move! Looking forward to your feedback.

Cheers,
Albert
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 8:10 pm
by FantasyDR » Sat Jun 01, 2013 2:51 pm
albertd wrote:
tap5 wrote:Would you consider providing a recent sd card image of this result?
I'm very curious to try it out but don't want to build myself at this point...


Hi tap5,

Hereby a build that was generated today with all last updates:
http://www.metrological.com/rpi/buildro ... 25.tar.bz2

Kind regards,
Albert


Sounds interesting and I tried this build. But I found it's very hard to use it...
The shell do not provide current path, only give me a '#' symbol.
And I also can't run 'make'...because make is not there :)

Do I use the wrong build?
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 13, 2013 4:01 am
by albertd » Sat Jun 01, 2013 3:39 pm
FantasyDR wrote:
albertd wrote:
tap5 wrote:Would you consider providing a recent sd card image of this result?
I'm very curious to try it out but don't want to build myself at this point...


Hi tap5,

Hereby a build that was generated today with all last updates:
http://www.metrological.com/rpi/buildro ... 25.tar.bz2

Kind regards,
Albert


Sounds interesting and I tried this build. But I found it's very hard to use it...
The shell do not provide current path, only give me a '#' symbol.
And I also can't run 'make'...because make is not there :)

Do I use the wrong build?


The goal is to build packages not on the device but on in the buildroot environment. Any specific package you would like to build?

Cheers,
Albert
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 8:10 pm
by FantasyDR » Sat Jun 01, 2013 4:04 pm
Maybe I misunderstood the goal of this project.

I found the github repo by googling 'DirectFB'. Because there is a directfb in the package folder.
I thought the build is aimed to provide a minimal dev environment, for GLES and Qt stuff...
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 13, 2013 4:01 am
by albertd » Sat Jun 01, 2013 4:10 pm
FantasyDR wrote:Maybe I misunderstood the goal of this project.

I found the github repo by googling 'DirectFB'. Because there is a directfb in the package folder.
I thought the build is aimed to provide a minimal dev environment, for GLES and Qt stuff...


DirectFB is not supported for the RPI in this build environment, we're adding wayland as we speak but currently only using Qt5 + EGLFS is working correctly.

Do you need DirectFB for another package?

Regards,
Albert
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 8:10 pm
by FantasyDR » Sun Jun 02, 2013 3:09 am
Not related to any other package. I'm curies about DirectFB itself, just want to find a build with it integrated.
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 13, 2013 4:01 am
by nemilos » Mon Jun 03, 2013 3:14 am
Woaw nice work !

Test youtube, it work,

Fast test give me :

autoplay not working
hdvideo which work fine with omxplayer, glitch a little bit with qtwebkit
fullscreen not working

I tested too a video qml with QtMultimedia, but "QtMultimedia" is not installed .. it will be nice to get this working too : ).

I tested with your archive from 25 may

nice job ! and boot in 15s !
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:16 am
by nemilos » Mon Jun 03, 2013 2:09 pm
Hello,

I compiled a buildroot with QtMultimedia

It complains about mediaservice mediaplayer not implemented ( i get in /usr/lib/qt/mediaservice files to do it .. :s )

And mlbrowser is not working ... start but no website on the display

And .. it give me Qt 5.1 .. and not the Qt 5.0.2, strange because when i read your script ..

QT5_VERSION = 5.0.2
QT5_SITE = http://releases.qt-project.org/qt5/$(QT5_VERSION)/submodules/

Don't know what i did wrong :s

thx

---------------------------
Some test more ;o

1/ dispmanx_offline=1 => cause display is totaly ****up when rotate ...
2/ mlbrowser don't work but a simple web.qml with Webview work but performance are faster with your 25 may package ( javascript animation .. )
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:16 am
by albertd » Mon Jun 03, 2013 3:49 pm
nemilos wrote:Hello,

I compiled a buildroot with QtMultimedia

It complains about mediaservice mediaplayer not implemented ( i get in /usr/lib/qt/mediaservice files to do it .. :s )

And mlbrowser is not working ... start but no website on the display

And .. it give me Qt 5.1 .. and not the Qt 5.0.2, strange because when i read your script ..

QT5_VERSION = 5.0.2
QT5_SITE = http://releases.qt-project.org/qt5/$(QT5_VERSION)/submodules/

Don't know what i did wrong :s

thx

---------------------------
Some test more ;o

1/ dispmanx_offline=1 => cause display is totaly ****up when rotate ...
2/ mlbrowser don't work but a simple web.qml with Webview work but performance are faster with your 25 may package ( javascript animation .. )


Hi nemilos,

The team is updating to the latest webkit and trying to switch from eglfs to wayland+weston.

If you checkout 22137bd6d0b02b3750a46e036b960fe2afacc29a you will get 5.0.2, will keep you updated on our progress.

Kind regards,
Albert

Update: reverted back to 5.0.2 for now, until the 5.1 is more stable. Furthermore QtMultimedia is not integrated, because we only use the video-tag inside the browser, but you're free to add the implementation, please look at gstreamer-egl code that is also used by the qtwebkit.
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 8:10 pm
by nemilos » Mon Jun 03, 2013 8:03 pm
Hello albertd,

Thx, i will make again.

Your mlbrowser work fine, but with a simple usage of qmlscene and qml with QmlWebkit it does not work. ( not a big problem but .. )

I'am going to make some test for QtMultimedia !
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:16 am
by disk91 » Mon Jun 03, 2013 9:34 pm
really nice !!
I have some trouble to execute javascripts but i'm not yet able to detail more ... is there a kind of debug mode ??

One question : when playing video, like youtube, first frame seemed to be out of sync. I mean passing really quickly, then the video is normal. I have the same thing when youtube freeze : when restarting the image speed is really fast then back to normal.
Did you experienced a such thing ? do you know a solution for it ?

Sincerely

Ps : for those like me wanting to make a quick test : use something like mlbrowser http://www.youtube.com on console.
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2013 8:36 pm
by albertd » Mon Jun 03, 2013 9:49 pm
nemilos wrote:Your mlbrowser work fine, but with a simple usage of qmlscene and qml with QmlWebkit it does not work. ( not a big problem but .. )

Should work please check the snowshoe package

nemilos wrote:I'am going to make some test for QtMultimedia !

Very cool, looking forward on your progress.

disk91 wrote:I have some trouble to execute javascripts but i'm not yet able to detail more ... is there a kind of debug mode ??

Please see the code of the mlbrowser, I think we have the web inspector in.

disk91 wrote:One question : when playing video, like youtube, first frame seemed to be out of sync. I mean passing really quickly, then the video is normal. I have the same thing when youtube freeze : when restarting the image speed is really fast then back to normal.
Did you experienced a such thing ? do you know a solution for it ?

Correct, that is why we're moving from eglfs to wayland+weston

Cheers,
Albert
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 8:10 pm
by topguy » Mon Jun 03, 2013 10:17 pm
albertd wrote:Update: reverted back to 5.0.2 for now, until the 5.1 is more stable. Furthermore QtMultimedia is not integrated, because we only use the video-tag inside the browser, but you're free to add the implementation, please look at gstreamer-egl code that is also used by the qtwebkit.


Got any tips for how to make a half-clean build in buildroot ? I just want to make a clean build of Qt without rebuilding the whole toolchain.

I sometime (like today) gets compile errors after updating the code.
User avatar
Posts: 2806
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 11:46 am
Location: Trondheim, Norway
by albertd » Mon Jun 03, 2013 10:21 pm
topguy wrote:Got any tips for how to make a half-clean build in buildroot ?


rm -rf output/build/qt*
make

Should do the trick.

Cheers,
Albert
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 8:10 pm