regularfriend

Composite AV recorder / Passthrough

Tue Dec 18, 2018 8:04 pm

Hey I'm new to using raspberry PIs (i made a htpc with one years ago and have done nothing with the pi since), but i have a project that i think this system would be perfect for.

Basically I want to take a component (old i know will mostly be used for recording the nintendo wii) input, record the video and audio data, preferably compress it but if not not a huge deal resolution will be 480i or 480p so the files wont be super huge regardless, and then pass through /output the data without any lag to a TV

I believe the best way to do this is to internally split the video somehow (kinda like a powered distribution amplifier) and immediately pass through the raw video and then record the split video separately to avoid adding a delay/lag in the output.

If not possible to have the lagless passthrough i can concede that and just split the signal outside of the pi and essentially have this work just as a small av recorder.

Do you all have any recommendations on what i should start looking into to build this? Haven't seen similar projects on the forum. I'm an experienced programmer so im not too worried about handling the software side of this (recording and compressing the data), but i am not very experienced with the hardware and am not sure how i would get/split the data on that end.

fruitoftheloom

Re: Composite AV recorder / Passthrough

Wed Dec 19, 2018 7:13 am

regularfriend wrote:
Tue Dec 18, 2018 8:04 pm
Hey I'm new to using raspberry PIs (i made a htpc with one years ago and have done nothing with the pi since), but i have a project that i think this system would be perfect for.