krish888

3.5 mm RCA Jack output characteristics

Fri Oct 19, 2018 2:18 pm

Hello,
I am a newbie to this forum. I am wondering:

1) what is the maximum audio power output from the 3.5 mm RCA jack?
2) what is the RMS voltage at the 3.5 mm RCA jack?
3) what is the output impedance at the 3.5 mm RCA jack?

Thanks in advance!

Krish

mahjongg
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Re: 3.5 mm RCA Jack output characteristics

Fri Oct 19, 2018 2:55 pm

Its a "line level" signal suitable to drive an audio amplifier.

The signal is generated from a 3V3 specially optimized PWM signal (optimized for audio quality), and the maximum amplitude of it is about 1V peak to peak out of a 1000Ohm impedance. as such you should use an input impedance that is (much) higher, or you will generate signal loss. For example if you load it with 1K, then you will use the maximum power out of the port, but the output level will be halved, so don't think in terms of "output power".

Also, If you don't output the maximum signal, the dynamic range of the signal will suffer, so don't use any software controlled volume regulation, but always use the maximum volume setting for best quality, and control the actual audio volume with the audio amplifier.

The point is, the output is NOT suitable to drive any speakers or headsets, or other low impedance devices, as quality and volume will suffer when you try. Only use an amplifier with 10K input impedance, or more.

krish888

Fri Oct 19, 2018 5:01 pm

Thanks for your reply! I forgot to mention that I have a Raspberry Pi 3B. Would the numbers you mentioned change for the 3B?

mahjongg
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Fri Oct 19, 2018 5:21 pm

No.