Melvin Cerba

Facial Detection and recognition

Wed Mar 07, 2018 7:58 pm

Hello !
First, I must apologize for my english, it not my first language. I am in high school, and I would like to create a facial recognition device that makes acquaintance for the teacher. He would take a picture of the class, and the device would return him a list of the missing students. It is quite ambitious, since I'm a beginner ( I've been learning python's basics this year, but that's basically it ), but I am willing to learn. I already have the hardware ( a raspberryPi 3 , a picam and a screen ), but I need the software.

I know many programs already exist, but I would like to create my own recognition algorithm. For that purpose, I've seen there are many facial detection and annotation algorithms, available in openCV and Dlib, some that can extract each human face from a picture ( https://github.com/ageitgey/face_recognition ), and others that can create a series of landmarks to mark out the different facial parts on a picture ( https://ibug.doc.ic.ac.uk/resources/fac ... notations/ ). The goal would be to extract each student's face from the picture taken by the teacher, and then apply the annotation algorithm on each. My job would then be to recognize people by comparing relations between the point's coords to those previously registered.

Image Image

What I would need help with, in the first place, is installing all the dependencies and these two algorithms, to be able to use them. If I got it right, I must install OpenCv and Dlib, but I guess there are compatibility issues. Knowing that I am using python 3.6 and a RaspberryPi 3 running on Raspbian stretch, which version of OpenCv and Dlib should I get?

Thank you !

YCN-

Re: Facial Detection and recognition

Thu Mar 08, 2018 8:53 am

Hi,