echolevel

Amiga MOD playback on RasPi with Java

Sun Aug 05, 2012 11:29 pm

Hi there, just thought I'd document what I've been working on since the RasPi came through the letterbox on Friday. If anyone has questions or suggestions, I'm all ears! Oh, and although I can cobble together some easyish stuff, bear in mind that I'm not a programmer; just an enthusiastic amateur. I'm happy to be corrected where I've gone wrong!

I'm not going to bore everyone with a history of the demoscene, the Commodore Amiga and Protracker/FastTracker/ScreamTracker module formats as I'm sure this'll only get clicked on by people who know what the subject heading means :)

Long story short: I made a very flexible, very lightweight, highly interactive MOD/XM/S3M replayer library for Processing some years ago. The idea was that people could put module-format soundtracks in Processing sketches while keeping the sketches very small for web viewing - most MOD music is well under 500kb, often around 20kb. Not many people used it, but I'd mostly done it for my own amusement. I used that library to create a dual-deck module DJing app called Chipdisco, an old version of which you can try in the browser complete with multiple MIDI input devices, multiple soundcard support and a baffling user interface here (drag and drop a file from the playlist to a deck to start playback).

Processing is dropping applet support and, frankly, running this in the browser in this day and age is problematic - Apple's Java implementations seem to get worse every year and they've already broken bits of javasound. So I decided to overhaul Chipdisco last week, throw out a load of bloat and turn it back into an app to be run locally without any of the security/signing problems.