robbie compton
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2015 12:29 am

greenhouse automation

Tue Jan 20, 2015 8:18 am

hi i am trying to create a greenhouse automation

i need to do the following
- open the greenhouse flaps
- water plants
- add humidity to the green house

Could i please be helped with the coding and setup
thank you robbie compton
Last edited by robbie compton on Tue Jan 20, 2015 7:18 pm, edited 3 times in total.

ame
Posts: 3172
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 1:21 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: greenhouse automation

Tue Jan 20, 2015 9:00 am

robbie compton wrote:hi i am trying to create a greenhouse automation

i need to do the following
- open the greenhouse flaps
- water plants
- add humidity to the green house

i need to be helped with the coding and setup
thank you robbie compton
You can do all of that.

Open flaps with a servo or dc motor.
Water plants with a solenoid valve
Add humidity with another solenoid valve (actually I have no idea how to add humidity if it's not a case of turning on a micro-spray nozzle).

Drive the whole thing with cron and Python. Or just Python.

I suggest you address one aspect of the project at a time until you have a solution for everything, then put it all together.

Do you have a power supply in the greenhouse? Do you have a network in the house? Do you have wifi?

robbie compton
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2015 12:29 am

Re: greenhouse automation

Tue Jan 20, 2015 6:29 pm

Hi I would like to make it so at 7am turn on the water for 15 minutes and 5 minutes at night and for the sensors I want them to open the flaps on the greenhouse and humidify the air
Thanks Robbie compton

Tarcas
Posts: 741
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 5:38 am
Location: USA

Re: greenhouse automation

Tue Jan 20, 2015 11:45 pm

robbie compton wrote:Hi I would like to make it so at 7am turn on the water for 15 minutes and 5 minutes at night and for the sensors I want them to open the flaps on the greenhouse and humidify the air
Thanks Robbie compton
Look up cron. It's a scheduler. If you can write a script to do something, you can have cron run that script at a given time or set of times (including hourly, daily, weekly, monthly, annually, etc.)

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 38536
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: A small cave in deepest darkest Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website Twitter

Re: greenhouse automation

Tue Jan 20, 2015 11:56 pm

Take a look at http://www.themagpi.com/issue/issue-27/pdf/ there's an article on watering tomatoes in that issue.
Note: Any requirement to use a crystal ball or mind reading will result in me ignoring your question.

I'll do your homework for you for a suitable fee.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.
All non-medical doctors are on my foes list.

ame
Posts: 3172
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 1:21 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: greenhouse automation

Tue Jan 20, 2015 11:58 pm

robbie compton wrote:Hi I would like to make it so at 7am turn on the water for 15 minutes and 5 minutes at night and for the sensors I want them to open the flaps on the greenhouse and humidify the air
Thanks Robbie compton
Which part would you like to do first?

robbie compton
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2015 12:29 am

Re: greenhouse automation

Wed Jan 21, 2015 6:56 am

Hi AME
I'm easy what would you do first

ame
Posts: 3172
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 1:21 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: greenhouse automation

Wed Jan 21, 2015 6:58 am

robbie compton wrote:Hi AME
I'm easy what would you do first
Hmm. I think I would probably build a greenhouse first, since I don't have one.

robbie compton
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2015 12:29 am

Re: greenhouse automation

Wed Jan 21, 2015 5:31 pm

Hi AME we've got a greenhouse thanks

robbie compton
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2015 12:29 am

Re: greenhouse automation

Wed Jan 21, 2015 5:37 pm

Hi AME I wouldn't like to have it connected to WiFi as we live an a farm and don't have a very strong connection

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 38536
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: A small cave in deepest darkest Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website Twitter

Re: greenhouse automation

Wed Jan 21, 2015 5:45 pm

robbie compton wrote:Hi AME I wouldn't like to have it connected to WiFi as we live an a farm and don't have a very strong connection
The spec says you can run ethernet cat5 for 100m without signal loss.
With some careful planning you could use PoE to get networking & 48VDC (which you'd step down to 5V for the pi) and networking down to your greenhouse.
If you've got a single phase 230V ring or spur you could use powerline ethernet.

Most of the volunteers on the forum don't want to write your code for you (that's a fee based service in my world) but prefer to give you hints at where you should be looking to write your own code. We're quite willing to help you shoot the bugs in code you've written or code you've "borrowed" from the internet.

There's no formally defined support on this forum, that's not part of the Raspberry Pi Foundation or the volunteer's remit.

For the right fee I'll write code.
Note: Any requirement to use a crystal ball or mind reading will result in me ignoring your question.

I'll do your homework for you for a suitable fee.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.
All non-medical doctors are on my foes list.

Return to “Automation, sensing and robotics”