simplesi
Posts: 2327
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 6:19 pm
Location: Euxton, Lancashire, UK
Contact: Website

Pi-mote from Energenie

Mon Jun 30, 2014 8:48 pm

Energenie have come up with a retail mains remote plug in board for the Pi their Pi-mote
https://energenie4u.co.uk/index.php/cat ... NER002-2PI

However the software that they've provided is very basic and could do with quite a bit of polishing

Or there might be existing code out there that could be easily adapted - anyone know of any?

Simon
Seeking help with Scratch and I/O stuff for Primary age children
http://cymplecy.wordpress.com/ @cymplecy on twitter

User avatar
AndrewS
Posts: 3625
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 4:50 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact: Website

Re: Pi-mote from Energenie

Mon Jun 30, 2014 9:02 pm

simplesi wrote:Or there might be existing code out there that could be easily adapted - anyone know of any?
http://www.raspberrypi.org/controlling- ... e-pi-mote/ :shock:

simplesi
Posts: 2327
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 6:19 pm
Location: Euxton, Lancashire, UK
Contact: Website

Re: Pi-mote from Energenie

Mon Jun 30, 2014 9:26 pm

Ta
I'll post he slightly deeper link :)
https://github.com/MiniGirlGeek/energenie-demo

Simon
Seeking help with Scratch and I/O stuff for Primary age children
http://cymplecy.wordpress.com/ @cymplecy on twitter

DGA110P
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2014 9:57 pm

Re: Pi-mote from Energenie

Mon Jun 30, 2014 9:59 pm

I wonder could Webiopi be tweaked for this ??
Build It Idiot Proof And They Will Build A Better Idiot..

gsh
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 1697
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 11:43 am

Re: Pi-mote from Energenie

Tue Jul 01, 2014 5:23 am

Yeah their code was a little simple, so I asked Amy to rewrite it to make it a little better (then me and Ben fixed her implementation because she had on/off codes the wrong way round!)

Gordon
--
Gordon Hollingworth PhD
Raspberry Pi - Director of Software Engineering

simplesi
Posts: 2327
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 6:19 pm
Location: Euxton, Lancashire, UK
Contact: Website

Re: Pi-mote from Energenie

Tue Jul 01, 2014 7:28 am

We could do with the "automagical" setting of codes sorting out first so users can just plug a socket in , reset it, run a prog and tell the socket what code to use

Simon
Seeking help with Scratch and I/O stuff for Primary age children
http://cymplecy.wordpress.com/ @cymplecy on twitter

simplesi
Posts: 2327
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 6:19 pm
Location: Euxton, Lancashire, UK
Contact: Website

Re: Pi-mote from Energenie

Tue Jul 01, 2014 10:23 am

Fomr the manual for the sockets
https://energenie4u.co.uk/res/pdfs/ENER002%20UM.pdf

it sasy
Energenie is a trading name of Sandal plc, Claremont House, Deans Court, Bicester, UK, OX26 6BW
If you have questions, please visit us at
www.energenie4u.co.uk

Radio controlled Socket
with controller for use with domestic appliances.
• Conveniently switch off appliances, reduce Standby usage and save money

The remote control does not require direct line-of-sight to operate. It can work even when
the socket is hidden behind furniture or in an adjacent room
.
• 4 channel remote control with all On/Off buttons.
• Dual controller option, a socket can now be controlled by two remote controllers
• 13 Amp rated sockets to BS5733, indoor use only.
Setting up - Learning remote controller key codes
1. Remove the battery protective tag from the hand control
-
ler - the battery is pre-installed.
2. Insert the plug into a powered mains wall socket. The red
indicator light near the ON/OFF button should flash at 1
second intervals indicating it is ready to learn a key code
from the hand controller.
If the light is not ashing, ensure the socket is o, then
press and hold the green button on the front of the socket
for 6 seconds or so until it starts to ash.
3. Point the hand controller at the socket and press and hold
briefly one of the pairs of numbered buttons you wish to use
to control the socket. The red indicator light on the exten
-
sion lead will flash quickly and then turn off to indicate the
socket was successfully programmed.
So, to do this programatically, we just need a little remote controller simulator do do step 3 - nice little Python prog (or even a ScratchGPIO one!)

Simon
Seeking help with Scratch and I/O stuff for Primary age children
http://cymplecy.wordpress.com/ @cymplecy on twitter

simplesi
Posts: 2327
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 6:19 pm
Location: Euxton, Lancashire, UK
Contact: Website

Re: Pi-mote from Energenie

Tue Jul 01, 2014 8:04 pm

Catch 22 with this one

Don't want to supply a Scratch prog to program the codes into the remote sockets as it makes a good programming exercise for young Scratchers but I need a prog myself to program the codes into the remote sockets :)

Simon
Seeking help with Scratch and I/O stuff for Primary age children
http://cymplecy.wordpress.com/ @cymplecy on twitter

User avatar
SteveDee
Posts: 343
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 2:18 pm
Location: Sunny Southern England
Contact: Website

Re: Pi-mote from Energenie

Wed Jul 02, 2014 6:31 pm

I've just received one of these kits and it seems to work well, but I haven't had a chance yet to attach a wire antenna and fully check the range.

The system uses a 24bit command code, but you only need to worry about 4 bits if you are writing a program to control the Pi-Mote module.

More details, and some simple Gambas sample code here: http://captainbodgit.blogspot.co.uk/201 ... t-for.html

All I need to do now is think of a use for it!

simplesi
Posts: 2327
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 6:19 pm
Location: Euxton, Lancashire, UK
Contact: Website

Re: Pi-mote from Energenie

Thu Jul 03, 2014 6:47 am

@SteveDee
Thanks for the info

Simon
PS
Love the blog catch-line :)

PPS Google Gambas so I know what it is now
Last edited by simplesi on Thu Jul 03, 2014 1:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Seeking help with Scratch and I/O stuff for Primary age children
http://cymplecy.wordpress.com/ @cymplecy on twitter

simplesi
Posts: 2327
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 6:19 pm
Location: Euxton, Lancashire, UK
Contact: Website

Re: Pi-mote from Energenie

Thu Jul 03, 2014 10:09 am

Steve and Andrew - going to ask mods to split your project chat off into new thread if you don't mind :)

Simon
Seeking help with Scratch and I/O stuff for Primary age children
http://cymplecy.wordpress.com/ @cymplecy on twitter

gsh
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 1697
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 11:43 am

Re: Pi-mote from Energenie

Thu Jul 03, 2014 10:13 am

OK, done...
--
Gordon Hollingworth PhD
Raspberry Pi - Director of Software Engineering

DGA110P
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2014 9:57 pm

Re: Pi-mote from Energenie

Thu Jul 03, 2014 8:23 pm

Finally got a chance to try pi mote sockets, programming seemed easy ,
plugged one socket in - sent code - plugged second socket in sent code - first socket stopped working ! ( think cy had same issue)
re programmed sockets but this time programmed socket two as socket one and socket one as two ,now for some strange reason this now works perfect ;-/

After getting a working system now its time to play, looking at the code and pre- amble the max sockets seems to be
1 pi to 4 sockets ,I think the preamble could have been shortened to allow an extra check bit to allow more sockets , but still an excellent device.
I think I might need to create a small helicoil aerial ( raspberry pi is going to look strange with a mini whip aerial)
Not sure if the next plan I have is possible ,but I want to use the "remote controller" and the raspberry pi to control the sockets
so If I am home I click the button ,If I am not the raspberry pi turns it on for me etc..


I think the next step is webpage to control the sockets ,anyone done this yet ???
Build It Idiot Proof And They Will Build A Better Idiot..

Ste123
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2012 7:10 am

Re: Pi-mote from Energenie

Sat Jul 05, 2014 9:27 pm

I have connected a web page to the these units.

I have a webpage pushing data into a MYSQL data base that is read by a cron job to switch the units on and off based on the data.

Works ok, its set up so I can use wget turn them, on and off as well.

The solution is great but has three issues:
1 - range is not great. Can I use any old wire for an aerial?
2 - cron is limited to one minute intervals
3 - I still don't have something really good to use them for :)

For me, I guess this is a solution that needs a problem :)

simplesi
Posts: 2327
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 6:19 pm
Location: Euxton, Lancashire, UK
Contact: Website

Re: Pi-mote from Energenie

Sat Jul 05, 2014 11:02 pm

Seeking help with Scratch and I/O stuff for Primary age children
http://cymplecy.wordpress.com/ @cymplecy on twitter

simplesi
Posts: 2327
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 6:19 pm
Location: Euxton, Lancashire, UK
Contact: Website

Re: Pi-mote from Energenie

Sat Jul 05, 2014 11:03 pm

3. I'm goign to use them in class to control things like fans coupled wit hDS18B 1 wire temp sensors or PIR motion sensors
Seeking help with Scratch and I/O stuff for Primary age children
http://cymplecy.wordpress.com/ @cymplecy on twitter

User avatar
SteveDee
Posts: 343
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 2:18 pm
Location: Sunny Southern England
Contact: Website

Re: Pi-mote from Energenie

Sun Jul 06, 2014 11:38 am

Ste123 wrote: 1 - range is not great. Can I use any old wire for an aerial?
I haven't done any aerial checks yet, but I suspect you will get best results following the manufacturers recommendation by soldering a 135mm length of copper wire to the circuit board. They probably don't suggest 165mm ( a quarter wave-length) because of the affect of the on-board antenna (approx 110mm of snake-like pcb track).
Without an additional wire, you may try standing the board up (vertical) rather than laying the board (and the on-board aerial) horizontal.

Ste123
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2012 7:10 am

Re: Pi-mote from Energenie

Sun Jul 06, 2014 1:58 pm

Thanks, does it have to be copper? The only thing I have handy is one of the cores from some old bell wire.

Thanks.

User avatar
SteveDee
Posts: 343
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 2:18 pm
Location: Sunny Southern England
Contact: Website

Re: Pi-mote from Energenie

Sun Jul 06, 2014 3:03 pm

Ste123 wrote:Thanks, does it have to be copper? The only thing I have handy is one of the cores from some old bell wire.

Thanks.
I would have thought that old bell wire was copper. If its not copper, it may not be possible to solder it in place.

But in principle, any conductive metal would work as an aerial.

Ste123
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2012 7:10 am

Re: Pi-mote from Energenie

Sun Jul 06, 2014 6:05 pm

Yep works a treat, range is improved (but not spectacular)

Thanks

txt3rob
Posts: 365
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2012 3:45 pm
Contact: Website

Re: Pi-mote from Energenie

Mon Jul 07, 2014 10:49 am

my RPI-Control does the same with status remotes

http://www.github.com/txt3rob/RPI-Control/

I have a few more implementations tho :) like SMS on and off etc.
The Raspberry Pi Hell Guy - Random Ramblings to assist me and others.
http://raspberrypihell.blogspot.com
My Github - http:/www.github.com/random-robbie/
http://www.smspi.co.uk - send free uk sms via your raspberry pi from here

User avatar
SteveDee
Posts: 343
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 2:18 pm
Location: Sunny Southern England
Contact: Website

Re: Pi-mote from Energenie

Wed Jul 09, 2014 1:03 pm

Ste123 wrote:...range is improved (but not spectacular)...
I've spent some time checking coverage in a typical family house and think this system has a useful range for controlling power points around the home.

The full details are here: http://captainbodgit.blogspot.co.uk/201 ... range.html

...but basically, with a 135mm wire soldered to the board to produce a small vertical aerial, it should be possible to control a socket 15m+ from the Pi-Mote (depending upon wall composition and furnishings).
Last edited by SteveDee on Sat Jul 12, 2014 10:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

kenmc
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri May 04, 2012 8:02 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Contact: Website

Re: Pi-mote from Energenie

Fri Jul 11, 2014 3:32 pm

I have a similar setup where i have a Pi talking Serial to an attiny84 sitting on a tinytx board with rfm12b, sending commands to various plugs in the house. Mainly set them to use as security lights when on holidays, using cron. have also experimented with email control. Found the range a bit hit-and-miss though, but otherwise fine.
http://goatstownweather.eu.pn

mikerr
Posts: 2826
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 12:46 pm
Location: UK
Contact: Website

Re: Pi-mote from Energenie

Sat Jul 12, 2014 10:05 am

DGA110P wrote:1 pi to 4 sockets ,I think the preamble could have been shortened to allow an extra check bit to allow more sockets , but still an excellent device.
So 4 controllable sockets is the max ?

"4 data bits" in the advert lead me to believe it was 16 units
https://energenie4u.co.uk/index.php/cat ... NER002-2PI

Good to know though 4 is ok for my uses at present anyway.
Android app - Raspi Card Imager - download and image SD cards - No PC required !

User avatar
SteveDee
Posts: 343
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 2:18 pm
Location: Sunny Southern England
Contact: Website

Re: Pi-mote from Energenie

Sat Jul 12, 2014 10:33 am

mikerr wrote:
DGA110P wrote:1 pi to 4 sockets ,I think the preamble could have been shortened to allow an extra check bit to allow more sockets , but still an excellent device.
So 4 controllable sockets is the max ?...
Yes, 4 sockets ON/OFF and All sockets ON/OFF which uses 10 separate codes. (http://captainbodgit.blogspot.co.uk/201 ... t-for.html)

Return to “Automation, sensing and robotics”