robbo100

Help with Ciseco XRF and Slice of Radio

Fri Jun 06, 2014 11:23 am

I have recently bought some Ciseco RF kit, with the aim to making some sort of autonomous robot which is remotely commanded from my Raspberry Pi.

I am pretty new to programming on the Pi, so this is going to be an audacious task, but have made a couple of successful applications using the Slice of Pi/o and a 16x2 LCD using Python, so I am growing in confidence with every step.
However, I am struggling to move forwards with the RF kit, and I was wondering if someone could point me in the right direction for some step by step instructions.

I am trying to get the following equipment to work:
- Raspberry Pi (v2) which is fitted with a Slice of Radio (v1.2)
- An XBee shaped XRF, fitted to an XBBO breakout board, powered by a 5V power supply. I have the jumper on the XBBO breakout board set to option 1.
- An XINO Basic with ATMEGA 328P-PU with Arduino Duemilanove Bootloader

I have managed to get the Slice of Radio working(ish) on the RPi, in that I can send it commands using Minicom and as I type +++ I get an “OK” response and the Tx light flashes on the Slice of Radio for a second or two. However, I had assumed that when doing this with the remote XRF and XBBO powered, I would get some activity lights flashing on the XBBO LEDs as the Slice of Radio communicates with the remote device, which I don’t (I just see the heartbeat LED flashing as normal). I have read that the XRF needs to be connected to a microprocessor to make it return a message like this, but I still get no response when it is connected to the XINO basic.