surfparadise

Safe shutdown - Simple way

Tue Mar 25, 2014 11:49 am

Hi all,

I am a total beginner in electronic so I need your advice if this simple circuit for provide a safe shutdown, with two super cap of 10F, can works.

Thank you in advance.

hampi

Re: Safe shutdown - Simple way

Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:40 pm

The circuit is similar to battery operated power supply except that the details of the 5 V boost regulator are not shown. Should work in principle if the supercapacitors are large enough.

surfparadise

Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:54 pm

Thank you for your answer. Could you check if the resistors value are correct?

Thanks again

Tarcas

Tue Mar 25, 2014 1:50 pm

I'm WAY confused as to what you're doing. All you need is a script that runs, checks a GPIO pin with a pullup resistor, and if it's low, execute the shutdown command. No need for any capacitors or more than one resistor. If you want simple way, a 4- or 5- line daemon script and 2 components seems WAY simpler to me than this.

SteveSpencer

Tue Mar 25, 2014 1:55 pm

The mention of supercapacitors make me think that the OP is wanting something that will shut down cleanly when power is removed, more of a UPS that a shutdown button...
Steve S
No, I can't think of anything funny that won't offend someone if they want it to...

surfparadise

Tue Mar 25, 2014 2:23 pm

Exactly. The function of super cap is to providing at least 20 sec. of time to do a clean shutdown. The GPIO7 will detect when main power gone... and the shutdown procces will start.

Could you check of the value of the resistors are corrects? I'm a beginner in electronics and I'm worry to blow the super cap.....

R1 is in the correct place, to limiting the ampere source of 0.5A? I don't want to connect it in the USB of my new TV and burn it....

The 2 super cap are well balanced?

FM81

Tue Mar 25, 2014 3:57 pm

Sorry, but I think, it will NOT work the way as you described. And there are many reasons, I'll only describe one: