persianharry

Electric gate open by ANPR

Mon Oct 14, 2013 8:28 pm

Sorry to post this as new to the forum, but I just wondered if someone could offer some advice?

My project is thus: I have electric gates at the end of my drive (off the shelf) and I intend to install a RPi at the gates with camera. The camera will be used for motion detection, and then when motion is detected a higher quality image is taken and passed to ANPR software. If a valid number plate is found in the picture it will be looked up in a list of plates and if it exists then the gates will be opened.

I'm a seasoned software developer, so most of the above is simple for me, all except the very last bit. I haven't done much with electronics since my childhood (and that's a while ago!) so I don't know where to start.

The electric gates' circuit board has two connectors that you can put a button on for physical opening, so all I need to do, presumably, is close this circuit momentarily from the Pi, but I'm guessing that I'll need some circuit protection in there? If anyone could give me some pointers on how to do this bit I would be very grateful. I haven't got anything in the way of breadboards or expansion boards so I really can start from scratch.

Thanks in advance...

pcmanbob

Re: Electric gate open by ANPR

Tue Oct 15, 2013 8:50 am

Hi.
if all you need to do is make a connection between the 2 contacts the simplest option would be a relay, it would also give you some isolation between the gate controller and the pi gpio pins.

some thing like this would be suitable
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/200712189000? ... 1439.l2649

you then have the option to drive the relay on for how ever long you need to and these relays will switch mains voltages if needed.
Please only ask questions in the forum I will not answer questions sent to me directly via PM
Remember we want information.......................no information no help

simonmcc

Tue Oct 15, 2013 9:02 am