GlynM

First Atempt at building a robot

Sat Feb 02, 2013 11:06 pm

I have been lurking in these forums for a while but this is my first post.

Having started out with the Raspberry Pi driving LEDs then an LCD display I decided to have a go at building a robot.

So this is my first attempt:

Looking at Front Left

Looking at Rear Right

This is using a chassis from a Heng Long Tiger Tank that was going spare after an upgrade.
It has a Raspberry Pi driving two pairs of L298 motor controllers which have been paralleled up to achieve the necessary current drive to each motor. These are being driven by one port on a MCP23017 GPIO expander.

Probably somewhat over the top I have ended up using using 10 IR proximity detectors, two looking forwards, two looking back, one looking out each side and four more diagonal front and back, on posts, which were a development to replace front and rear micro switch bumpers that were getting destroyed by the impact forces.

There are also two line following detectors that are looking at the tracks and are used to detect a single white painted link on each side. These are to detect a stalled track and allow an indication of the distance traveled. While it probably will not work in a dirty environment they are fine inside my house. These, along with the proximity detectors are fed as inputs to another 3 MCP23017 ports.

I also have a HMC5883L digital compass raised up on a post at the back to keep it away from interference from the motors and being screened by metal objects like the battery. There is also a 2 line, 16 character I2C LCD display.