david_1234
Posts: 333
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2018 2:14 pm

I2C on PI stop working?

Sun Dec 22, 2019 8:34 am

Hello ,
I'm working with PI4 buster
I want to connect an I2C LCD device
I have connected 5V,GND,PIN3(SDA),PIN5(SCL)
enable the i2c on the config
but when I run the command I don't see the device

Code: Select all

sudo i2cdetect -y 1
     0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  a  b  c  d  e  f
00:          -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
10: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
20: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
30: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
40: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
50: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
60: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
70: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --                         

I have check the LCD with another PI - it recognize it , check it also with an Arduino (Just to be sure) -and it's working
the power is on - red power led of LCD is on .
I have try 4 different cables to connect the SCL,SDA - stil not working
I remember the i2c work with another device 1 month ago , then I disconnect the i2c device.

did I forget something ?

Thanks ,

mattmiller
Posts: 2243
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 11:25 pm

Re: I2C on PI stop working?

Sun Dec 22, 2019 8:37 am

[edit] Sorry - didn't see that it works with another Pi [/edit]
Last edited by mattmiller on Sun Dec 22, 2019 8:44 am, edited 1 time in total.

david_1234
Posts: 333
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2018 2:14 pm

Re: I2C on PI stop working?

Sun Dec 22, 2019 8:40 am

it was INA219
but also a I2C LCD
I remember I had some problem with the INA219 , and I wanted to check the i2c is working so I run a simple "show time " python code .

maybe there is a simple sel-check or something I can do ?

I think something went wrong in the PI
because now I have also try to connect another LCD and a a RTC clock
all of them I get an empty metrix

Code: Select all

 sudo i2cdetect -y 1
     0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  a  b  c  d  e  f
00:          -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
10: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
20: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
30: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
40: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
50: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
60: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
70: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
so maybe something in the config?

Return to “Automation, sensing and robotics”