grasuoare

Relee boars + RS485

Sat Jun 29, 2019 11:50 am

Hi Guys,

I'm new to this world, please don't laugh. I have a big project in my house. I want every light to be turned on/off by a relay. (the switches will remain on the walls, lol), so in this case i made a schema with how should i wire all the stuff.

Could you please tell me if something is wrong or it will not work? Thanks in advance!

For the project i'm using:
9 pcs - DC 5V RS485232 (TTL) RTU Control UART Relay Switch Board PLC Support for Modbus
10 pcs - Board with 8 relays.

Thanks!

blimpyway

Re: Relee boars + RS485

Sat Jun 29, 2019 3:34 pm

You should give some links to specification/product pages for these boards.

The PI's 5V line will not be able power all those boards, relays and modules.

grasuoare

Sat Jun 29, 2019 6:30 pm

For sure,

Here is the link for the RS485 Board: https://www.ebay.com/itm/8ch-RS485-Modb ... SwMrJc5leX

Here is the link for the Relay Board:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/5V-8-Channel-R ... Sw5BpdEMPF

Could you please tell me if i made the connections correctly? For the power supply how should i wire them? :)

Brandon92

Sat Jun 29, 2019 6:53 pm

First of all. Before I'll give you any advice for this project.
What do you know about electronics, and is this your first project? And have you any experience in this field. Because this is not a easy project and you need probably a lot more than that (wrong) relay board.

grasuoare

Sat Jun 29, 2019 8:20 pm

Good knowledge in the process of how the boards are populated, soldered and inspected. (i'm working in an electronic factory, process owner on programming the placement machines and automatic optical inspection machines)
At the electronic part and what the boards are doing my knowledge is moderate, but i'm a fast learner.

I had a similar project but with I2C expanders, and it went wrong because of the distance between the boards. That's why i try to use RS485.

Brandon92

Mon Jul 01, 2019 5:31 pm