msloan

Using the Pi to measure Decibels

Fri Sep 21, 2012 5:34 pm

I think for my first project I want to create a decibel meter to measure noise level in my school's cafeteria. I am designing the GUI and want to have the noise level shown like a volume meter and have certain pictures shown based on the decibel level. This will be shown on a projector that all could see during lunch. I also want to keep a record of each lunch period to reward the classes that are the quietest for the week or the month.

Does this sound like a project the Raspberry pi could deliver?

I'm a relative noob and was wondering if Python could handle this or maybe even Scratch?

mahjongg
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Re: Using the Pi to measure Decibels

Fri Sep 21, 2012 5:45 pm

The primary problem is that the PI lacks hardware to measure a sound level, and most hardware ( a codec, or reasonably fast A/D converter) there is will simply sample a sound wave, consisting of thousands of samples a second. from that data you have to take the absolute value, and over many samples calculate the real mean square average, then convert it to decibels (a logarithmic scale). Its do-able, but the first part needs machine language, and the other parts need a fast language like C, perhaps python can do some of the calculations.

It would probably be simpler to build some dedicated hardware to sample, rectify and average the audio to a semblance of a "DC level", then use a much slower A/D converter connected to the I2C bus to take level samples.

To be honest, I think this isn't "beginners level" stuff. But maybe you will come up with a smarter solution, the GUI is the much simpler part.

Grumpy Mike

Fri Sep 21, 2012 8:58 pm

There was an identical project attempted about three years ago with an Arduino. In the end the experimenter found no correlation between the perceived loudness and the readings taken from a microphone.
The problem is two fold:-