animositygamers

Home automation Question

Mon Aug 01, 2016 7:04 pm

So, I'm new to using raspberry pi or coding in general but home automation is the reason I bought a Raspberry Pi. I intend to learn as I go and try to piece together wirelessly controlled relay's controlled from my Raspberry pi with my phone or computer on ip address. I'm a electrician by trade and have no problem messing with my main power but if anyone is going to try to replicate things I'm going to try to do I warn that playing with main power is potentially life threatening and you should do so with that risk in mind.

Alright, I started this project about 3 months ago before I had to leave for work (in which I forgot alot of what I learned on my PI :( ). I succeeded in controlling my kettle with SSH with my android phone using Python commands directed towards my PI.
http://imgur.com/a/Jt56J (Project as it stands when I left for work)

I now wish to eliminate the wires from my PI to the relay that switches the power, make it smaller (not much bigger than the relay itself and if possible I'd like to control multiple relays with the same Rasp PI so I can add or remove home automation items at my leisure. I'm thinking this could possibly be accomplish with RF receivers/transmitter? but I'm having a bit of a hard time finding material that I can learn from.

Here is some Code I used for the kettle project...

Python

Code: Select all

import RPi.GPIO as gpio
import sys
gpio.setwarnings(False)
gpio.setmode(gpio.BOARD)
gpio.setup(22,gpio.OUT)
k=int(sys.argv[1])
if k==1:
    gpio.output(22,1)
elif k==0:
    gpio.output(22,0)
I would also love it if I could eliminate the SSH Putty input with my phone and make it a website that I could simple label different buttons and they would change color (green on and red off).

Would appreciate any help on this project if anyone has done it already.

Kagetaze

Re: Home automation Question

Tue Aug 02, 2016 6:52 am