zsipes

Pi, Potentiometer, Stepper Motor

Fri Jan 15, 2016 8:39 pm

I am quite a beginner with this stuff. I have setup a pi to control my garage door through a relay, so that I can open and close it with my smartphone. So I have capabilities of doing things, most times I just need pointed in the right direction. My question now doesn't pertain to the garage door, just wanted to explain that I am not a complete noob.

I am looking for a way to control a stepper motor's rotation through a potentiometer. More specifically I am not looking to control speed but rather the position of rotation. I would like for the potentiometer to be a 1:1 ratio with the stepper motor. (Also am seeking guidance as to whether a stepper or servo would be of better use.)

I understand that an arduino is generally more suited for this use, but I am also seeking a way to eventually have a couple hardware buttons to set points into memory and also to revisit points of rotation through a button press. The ultimate goal is to have a small setup that utilizes a rpi zero to save space (also why I would like to do this without an arduino).

Hopefully this makes sense and I haven't just wasted your time. If anyone has an insight that would be helpful I would be glad to hear it. Thanks in advance!

rzusman

Re: Pi, Potentiometer, Stepper Motor

Sat Jan 16, 2016 5:08 am

I'm not exactly sure what you want to accomplish, but you must realize that a pot has only about 270° of rotation, whereas a stepper motor can rotate through any number of degrees.
But, assuming that you want to map the pot position to a specific number of degrees, you need to digitize the pot's wiper position (place the two resistor terminals between Vref an Ground, and measure the voltage on the wiper). Then you calculate how many steps you need to send to the motor based on whatever scale factor you require. If you don't have an encoder on the motor, you will need some time of home switch so that you know where to start from.