TBJoe

Raspberry Pi for OwnCloud

Tue Feb 10, 2015 4:32 pm

Hello,
I have no experience with things like the Raspberry Pi yet, but I am thinking about getting one for my own OwnCloud-Server. Of course, what I want to do with it in the end might change as I keep playing with it.

Here are two of my own questions:
1) what model of Raspberry Pi to choose? A, B, B+, 2?
I think I heard, that the speed of RPI 2 could definitely help OwnCloud. What do you say?

2) What about HDD / USB / SD for memory? What would you choose and why? Will I have power-problems?
I won't need a very large amount of memory, but I want the option to add more memory, if needed

If you can think of other notable things, please don't hesitate to tell me about it. Maybe you already tried to set up your OwnCloud server and can tell me what problems I could run into.

PS: I want to order it soon and hopefully with all the extra hardware, I'll need (like for memory). It would be good if I don't discover that something essential is missing and I need to order it and wait again :)

DougieLawson

Re: Raspberry Pi for OwnCloud

Tue Feb 10, 2015 6:45 pm

You should buy a RPI2B

You appear to be confusing memory (as in RAM which is fixed at 1GB) with flash memory (as in SDCards which give you 4GB to 512GB of space instead of a hard disk). A 8GB SDCard should be good enough.
Note: Having anything humorous in your signature is completely banned on this forum. Wear a tin-foil hat and you'll get a ban.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.

This is a doctor free zone.

TBJoe

Wed Feb 11, 2015 2:15 pm

I'm not confusing RAM with mass-storage. Maybe I'm confusing the english terms or not making it clear what I'm talking about :)

DougieLawson

Wed Feb 11, 2015 3:17 pm

TBJoe wrote:I'm not confusing RAM with mass-storage. Maybe I'm confusing the english terms or not making it clear what I'm talking about :)
You are!