partynoparty

distributed network of sensors

Tue Nov 18, 2014 1:33 pm

Looking to start a project and I'm new to all this so I've got some questions. I am trying to plan out a project involving collecting environmental data from lakes and other bodies of water. The general idea would be to have several sensor nodes placed around a lake that would relay data to a central hub. I was planning on using Python messaging queues to relay the data between nodes. I'd like to get some idea of the equipment I might need for this type of project.

The first issue would be the communication. What are the different means of communication that might be available between the nodes? A wifi antenna seems like the most obvious choice, but I'm not sure what sort of range I might expect from that. Some of the lakes we'll be studying are close to a mile from end to end. I envisioned the sensor nodes would only be collecting data while the central hub would only be receiving data, but I feel like the large area might require some nodes to receive the data and then pass it along toward the central hub.

The other concern would be the power consumption. We were hoping to have these things solar powered. I'm not sure how much power the senors and communication would require. The sensors would be collecting probably every ten minutes or so, but the communication does not need to be continuous. I was thinking the nodes could temporarily store the data then then send it off once a day, or something to that effect.

Not sure how feasible any of this is, so all input is appreciated. Thanks!

-Mike

DougieLawson

Re: distributed network of sensors

Tue Nov 18, 2014 2:40 pm

Take a look at http://mosquitto.org and http://MQTT.org, MQTT is the protocol for sensor networks.
Note: Having anything humorous in your signature is completely banned on this forum. Wear a tin-foil hat and you'll get a ban.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.

This is a doctor free zone.

rgrbic