bascule

Media Server Madness

Thu Jun 07, 2012 10:57 am

I'm a Linux noob so probably missed something fundamental, but here goes:

I currently serve media (mostly WMV and DivX/Xvid) to the xbox 360s in our house using Serviio running on an old Via mini itx. I'm trying (with some success) to do the same with my Pi.

I'm running SqueezePlug Debian, and succesfully set up Webmin and have a nice big 2tb Samba share. I 've tried the following media servers:

MiniDNLA - Only picks up about 30% of my movies. I can set custom thumbnails but they don't show on the xbox. They do with BubbleUPNP on Android

LMS - Picks up all my movies, but isn't visible to the xbox. Shows in and streams to BubbleUPNP

Twonky - works perfect, but costs money :lol:

I also managed to install & configure Serviio but whilst this was visible to the Xbox I had the same issue as MiniDNLA in that it didn't show all my movies. Some WMVs show, some don't, which is a bit strange since I encoded them all the same way (same bit rate, WMV9 video, WMAPRO 5.1 surround).

Am I missing something obvious as to why not all movies are picked up by some servers? I'll post a guide for Serviio if I can resolve this, as it's been my weapon of choice for a while now.
- learning the hard way. Who needs to walk when running is more fun

obarthelemy

Re: Media Server Madness

Thu Jun 07, 2012 1:55 pm

I haven't tried minidlna on my Pi yet. Since all movies do show up on Android, I would assume there is something in the file description that flags them as "not playable on xbox". I have no clue what though.

Jancis

Sat Jun 09, 2012 11:41 am

i am happy with mediatomb. i can configure it so that even my tv (samsung) can properly use it. been using it for years, raspberry has no problems with it so far (one month) too.

spudy12

Sat Jun 09, 2012 1:34 pm

why not buy more Pi's to replace the xbox's and run XBMC on them? :P (thats what im going to do anyway!)

obarthelemy

Sat Jun 09, 2012 11:23 pm