User avatar
jonny3010
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 9:33 pm
Contact: Website

input / output error

Mon Dec 24, 2012 10:33 am

input / output error i get this after a while of my USB hdd being mounted

i have samba,transmissions and dlna server running

User avatar
jonny3010
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 9:33 pm
Contact: Website

Re: input / output error

Wed Dec 26, 2012 10:36 pm

BUMP!

deejayscorpion
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 4:23 pm

Re: input / output error

Mon Jan 28, 2013 4:24 pm

I'm facing the same problem.

User avatar
jonny3010
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 9:33 pm
Contact: Website

Re: input / output error

Sat Feb 02, 2013 10:21 pm

when do you get this error and what drive do you have? eg Samsung and after 2 mins

are you using a powered hub?

baldruus
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 5:11 pm

Re: input / output error

Fri Apr 19, 2013 6:59 pm

I have the same problem, and I tried everything.
Now I think the problem it's on Raspbian, not HDD, because after reboot it's everything ok.

xXAzazelXx
Posts: 129
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 8:32 am
Location: Australia
Contact: Website

Re: input / output error

Sat Apr 20, 2013 9:32 pm

yep same here too :(

User avatar
jojopi
Posts: 3041
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 8:38 pm

Re: input / output error

Sun Apr 21, 2013 3:34 am

I/O Error means that there was a problem reading or writing from the drive at a hardware level. That could be due to a failing hard disk, but it is more likely to be caused by a faulty or incompatible USB hub or cable, or insufficient power either to the drive, hub, or Pi.

The error is reported by the Linux kernel, so it is not the fault of Raspbian. After the error occurs, the command "dmesg" will print the kernel's log buffer. This will include details of the problem.

The most likely cause is "usb 1-1.x: USB disconnect, device number x", which means that the kernel completely lost communication with the drive, and thought it had been unplugged. Although it may detect it again shortly afterwards, the filesystem will not work properly until it has been unmounted and remounted.

User avatar
jonny3010
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 9:33 pm
Contact: Website

Re: input / output error

Sun Apr 21, 2013 3:48 pm

not had this problem for 2 months now since i did some rewiring

jamesdf
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2012 1:45 am

Re: input / output error

Tue Jul 02, 2013 11:18 am

Hi there,

I'm having this problem and it's doing my head in. You said you did some re-wiring? Can you share how you did this?

J

User avatar
RaTTuS
Posts: 10108
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 11:12 am
Location: North West UK

Re: input / output error

Tue Jul 02, 2013 11:27 am

jamesdf wrote:Hi there,

I'm having this problem and it's doing my head in. You said you did some re-wiring? Can you share how you did this?

J
What does
Dmesg
say after the error
how have you got the system setup?
show diagrams
show urls of all the bit's you have plugged in
How To ask Questions :- http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
WARNING - some parts of this post may be erroneous YMMV

1QC43qbL5FySu2Pi51vGqKqxy3UiJgukSX
Covfefe

User avatar
jonny3010
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 9:33 pm
Contact: Website

Re: input / output error

Tue Jul 02, 2013 12:03 pm

fixed it now i think plugging it in to a USB hub does not help. since this i have had it running for 90 days with out a problem :D

just need to do a bit of soldering to get the power from another source and not the Pi

Magbed
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2012 9:01 am

Re: input / output error

Fri Nov 01, 2013 6:52 pm

Im having the same issue, works ok for a few days then it starts reporting this IO error.
Im using a USB hub with external power.
After reboot it works flawlessly again

User avatar
jonny3010
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 9:33 pm
Contact: Website

Re: input / output error

Fri Nov 01, 2013 8:19 pm

I remove mine from the Hub and had not issues. I think you need a good USB hub not a cheap one for 24/7 use. like 15 quid ones

tribal123
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 6:11 pm

Re: input / output error

Fri Apr 18, 2014 2:42 pm

Sorry for bumping this post but i have the same issue on one of mine HDD usb powered directly from AC (not from Hub)
After a while of pyLoad running the I/O error occours

User avatar
jonny3010
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 9:33 pm
Contact: Website

Re: input / output error

Fri Apr 18, 2014 4:06 pm

What HDD you using?
also what file system is it using?

tribal123
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 6:11 pm

Re: input / output error

Fri Apr 18, 2014 4:20 pm

3,5 Western Digital Elements SE - external powered
NTFS (with NTFS-3g installed)

tribal123
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 6:11 pm

Re: input / output error

Sat Apr 19, 2014 1:15 pm

However it seems that the HDD itself have issues....
Last night downloaded several files on another HDD without I/O problems

RasPass
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2012 12:44 am

Re: input / output error

Sun May 04, 2014 1:46 pm

I've been having the same issue for a while, which I posted here.

It works well for a while and then I get I/O errors like you have mentioned. Not sure if it's inactivity that's causing this problem, as I set up cron to create a 5 MB file every minute to see if this would still happen, and it did, but I'm sure the hard drive is not failing as it works fine on other devices.

If you google 'raspberry pi usb external input/output errors' you'll get so many people reporting the same problem, but no solution... I don't know if getting a more expensive hub would solve the problem or just be a waste of money.

tribal123
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 6:11 pm

Re: input / output error

Sun May 04, 2014 2:25 pm

HDD having no issues with other devices means nothing.
Mine HDD too worked well on PC and on raspberry while running films etc.
But have issues while writing.
I suggest to download and run Hard Disk Sentinel (free try version) to check the Hdd.

RasPass
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2012 12:44 am

Re: input / output error

Sun May 04, 2014 2:48 pm

tribal123 wrote:HDD having no issues with other devices means nothing.
Mine HDD too worked well on PC and on raspberry while running films etc.
But have issues while writing.
I suggest to download and run Hard Disk Sentinel (free try version) to check the Hdd.
It is a brand new drive that presented exactly the same problems as the one it had replaced. It is not impossible that it may have had issues out of the box, but I suspect the problems to be power related and not drive related. I just ran hdsentinel and from what I understand it didn't appear to give me any problems, saying no actions needed and health is 'excellent'.

TheGoldyMan
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2014 12:44 am

Re: input / output error

Thu Dec 04, 2014 11:49 pm

Hey guys,

I have exactly the same problem as you. The only difference is that I have no HDD connected. I think the problem is that our power adapters are not capable of supplying the minimum 0.7A or 700mAh.

What do you guys think. Were you able to solve the issue by plugging your pi into a 5V 0.7A charger?

User avatar
RaTTuS
Posts: 10108
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 11:12 am
Location: North West UK

Re: input / output error

Fri Dec 05, 2014 9:25 am

you are not going to be able power a HD with .7A and the RPI
get a 2A supply
How To ask Questions :- http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
WARNING - some parts of this post may be erroneous YMMV

1QC43qbL5FySu2Pi51vGqKqxy3UiJgukSX
Covfefe

anilrao
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 11, 2015 1:48 am

Re: input / output error

Mon May 11, 2015 1:51 am

I had the same issue with a USB HD. I had it configured to feed power (5V/2.1A) to the USB HD and raspberry through the same USB connection (not the micro) and found that after some time the controller chip would get hot and would throw that error. I switched the power to raspberry to the micro usb and now it is stable.

pookeye
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 6:07 pm

Re: input / output error

Tue Jan 19, 2016 6:15 pm

So I have been trying to fix this problem for months,

I have tried Raspberry B+ and Raspberry pi 2,

at the end of the day, I had a 128GB USB key that had this problem it was a PNY one, so I swapped it with another brand USB Key also 128GB and both formated at exfat,

It seems that I don't have that input output error with the new USB key, I had the input output error when I created a samba and tried to read the USB Key, I havent tried it yet with the new USB key, but will report, if it works with the new USB key...

so for now, I recommend trying a different USB device, HDD or FDD, and see if the input output goes away.

pookeye
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 6:07 pm

Re: input / output error

Thu Jan 21, 2016 11:11 pm

I can confirm switching USB Key (or storage medium that you had) seemed to have fixed it...

I thought maybe it was a power issue, so i had put the problem USB Key to a USB Hub, but i ended up getting the same issue.

so I finally just decided to change the USB Key, and it seems to be working as expected.

also I created the samba and am able to use the new USB Key with expected results.

If you are having this input/output error all the time, i recommend using a different storage medium (USB Key, HDD etc) and see if that solves your problem.

Return to “Networking and servers”