Cranky

Can You Wirelessly Transmit Data Pi To Pi

Sat Sep 14, 2019 2:20 pm

Hi Folks
I am new to the Pi and have a question. I am trying to collect and log data on one Pi and send it to another Pi to log and display. I will not have access to the internet where I am colleting the data and can not have a wired connection between them. Is it possible to wirelessly transmit data between the pi's using there onboard WiFi or is it possible to add a wireless USB transceiver to each Pi or maybe use a us a GL-iNet to create a mobile network to pass the data through? I need to keep the setup small 6X6 inch is max size but smaller would be better. Just looking for some opinions and options that I might pursue.

Thank you
Cranky

RattusRattus

Re: Can You Wirelessly Transmit Data Pi To Pi

Sun Sep 15, 2019 5:16 pm

If you have WiFi on your Pis then this is a simple matter of having one Pi configured as the Access point and the rest associate with it.

Take a look at https://www.raspberrypi.org/documentati ... s-point.md

/Andy

Andyroo

Sun Sep 15, 2019 5:27 pm

Welcome to the forum,

If you are tight for space then look at the Pi Zero W board.

Thats the smallest practicable board you can use and they are fine for small tasks that are not CPU heavy (still LOTS more oomph than an Arduino).

Range on all Pis depends on the surroundings and you cannot add an external antenna (though you can add a USB Wifi Dongle that has a larger range).

One other option would be to create an ad-hoc Bluetooth network and pass the data that way. I've not seen a WiFi ad-hoc network set up though so the above AP way from RattusRattus will give you the best range.
Need Pi spray - these things are breeding in my house...

Cranky

Sun Sep 15, 2019 9:32 pm