DarthPi

Raspbian on Pi 2 as VPN

Wed Sep 26, 2018 2:13 pm

I see a lot of VPN discussion in the groups but I still don't understand something. Why do I need to connect to a VPN service like IpVanish, or OpenVPN? I would like my Pi to encrypt my traffic prior to hitting the Internet. I'm not concerned with accessing my network off-site, I just want encrypted traffic so my ISP or other snoopers cannot see my info when I'm banking, shopping, etc.

Is it possible for the Pi to run as a VPN or some other encryption device without the use of a VPN service?

As you can probably tell, I'm very new to the Pi world and VPNs in general. Thanks.

ScoobyDoo

Re: Raspbian on Pi 2 as VPN

Wed Sep 26, 2018 5:08 pm

Couple of guides here to setup your PI as a vpn server which will use your VPN service to encrypt all your traffic routed through the PI.

The only issue is speed. Your not going to get much speed through the PI but its sufficient for browsing etc.

Check these out.

http://www.dickson.me.uk/2016/06/21/set ... r-updated/

https://gist.github.com/superjamie/ac55b6d2c080582a3e64

The 2nd link uses PIA vpn but its easily changed to use ipvanish etc.

thagrol

Wed Sep 26, 2018 8:45 pm

DarthPi wrote:
Wed Sep 26, 2018 2:13 pm
I see a lot of VPN discussion in the groups but I still don't understand something. Why do I need to connect to a VPN service like IpVanish, or OpenVPN? I would like my Pi to encrypt my traffic prior to hitting the Internet. I'm not concerned with accessing my network off-site, I just want encrypted traffic so my ISP or other snoopers cannot see my info when I'm banking, shopping, etc.

Is it possible for the Pi to run as a VPN or some other encryption device without the use of a VPN service?
No.

A VPN (Virtual Private Network) is basically a point to point service. You can't have a single ended one as there'd be nothing to handle the decryption/encryption at the other end.