Laukess

NAS questions and setup help

Tue Oct 30, 2012 2:17 pm

Hi.
I've bough a Raspberri Pi, and recently got around to install an OS on it (Didn't have a card reader).
I'm not sure what to do with it, but I'm thinking about using it as a NAS. I got a lot of movies and stuff like that, and I would really like to be able to access it easily from different computers.
Would NAS be the best way to go ? How fast is it, and would it be possible to stream HD movies, so I can watch it directly from the Raspberry ? I would also like to know if its possible to access it outside my local network.

Most of the questions I would be able to answer myself, by installing the right software and testing it myself. My main problem, and the reason I write this topic is that I've had some problems with samba, and I'm not sure what the problem is.

I'm new to Linux, so its kinda hard to troubleshoot.
I followed a guide I found, and didn't seem to mess any of the steps up, but I wasn't able to connect to it from my mac, so something must have gone wrong somewhere. I wanted to follow another guide, because the it seemed way better and helpful, but I got into problems because my hdd already was mounted and stuff from my previous attempt.

Is it possible to reset whatever I did to my hdd, so I can mindlessly follow another guide, and how do I restore the samba changes I made ?

Can you recommend any guides for a linux noob ?

Let me know if you need more info. Its been like a week since my last attempt, so I don't remember all the details.

Thanks for your time
- Lukas

bredman

Re: NAS questions and setup help

Tue Oct 30, 2012 2:39 pm

Here is a step-by-step guide to configure your RPi as a NAS
http://elinux.org/R-Pi_NAS

If you don't have anything important on your SD card, it might be best to reflash your SD card to make a clean start.

Laukess

Tue Oct 30, 2012 2:56 pm

Thanks for your reply.