prip

Monitoring various Wifi access points

Mon Jun 04, 2018 7:48 pm

Hello Guys, this is my first project with rpi. I'm from Mexico and we want to give free internet access in some public places, like dog parks, soccer fields, etc. this is a community project founded by some of the people that live near this places.

Due to some terrain and regulations constraints we cant use antenas to build a network and building one with cable would be way out of budget.
So the best solution so far is using varios ISP. How ever this makes it hard to monitor the performance of the "network" on all the points.

I want to conect a Rapsberry pi to each AP router, and send the data to a main web server ( maybe an other rpi would work fine?)
to display the data on a web interface, and plot it over time to determine possible problems .

I have atached a basic diagram of how i think the network could integrate.
But i'm lost on where to start.
Maybe Zabbix would be a good starting point? or a complete custom solution would be needed?

I'm a total noob on the subject and will appreciate any input you guys have :)
Attachments
diagrama de red.jpg
diagrama de red.jpg (143.89 KiB) Viewed 512 times

epoch1970

Re: Monitoring various Wifi access points

Wed Jun 06, 2018 11:48 am

What information do you want to trace?
I'm not sure what the Pi can provide and report, since it looks like a) it is external to the AP OS, b) its wired link can go down too.

Maybe some simple "ping status" page would suffice? E.g. https://cachethq.io (there are plenty available, you can build your own too)

Another approach would be social networking. Good telcos merge messages coming from social media platforms with the status report coming from their NOC to best manage the service. This way they prioritise repairs where defaults cause the most trouble to their customers.
So, simply print stickers with a social network account or QR code to contact and declare QoS issues?