Boezelman

Host magento on a Pi

Fri Oct 19, 2012 6:18 am

I've been trying to setup the Pi to run Magento but I can't get it to work.
(I must add I'm fairly new to Linux, php, sql, etc, but I have some basic knowledge :))

I use "lighttpd" to run a webserver.

I've found allot of tutorials, but I think I do something wrong with the installation and configuration of the php/sql packages.

I installed:

Code: Select all

mysql-server
php5-mysql php5-curl php5-gd php5-mcrypt php5-common php5-cgi php5
I also created a Mysql database without problems.

mysql -u root -p
CREATE DATABASE magento;
CREATE USER mage;
GRANT ALL ON magento.* TO 'mage' IDENTIFIED BY 'password';
I've tryd many ways to install Magento but almost every install fails on the ./pear command.

./pear mage-setup .
./pear install magento-core/Mage_All_Latest-stable
Pear should be installed standard with php5 (according to google :)) but because it didn't run I've installed it manually.

So, does anyone know how to setup the Pi to run magento?
Does anyone already run Magento and would like to share a "step-by-step" guide?

benzeman

Re: Host magento on a Pi

Fri Oct 19, 2012 9:35 am

If I remember right, magento is very resource intensive... And the raspberry pi isn't exactly powerful (for a webserver), so you might have some trouble. Try using the web server distro (http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewt ... 36&t=19702) on a 512MB pi and see how you get on...

capt.tagon

Mon Oct 22, 2012 5:27 am

Interesting project, but possibly an exercise in futility. Magento will require a minimum script memory_limit of 256MB, mysql will require enough resources. You've chosen an e-commerce platform that will easily stress an i7.

choukalos

Fri May 03, 2013 3:15 pm

Magento does run on a raspberry pi. There are a couple key things you have to do first:

. Setup on your chosen webserver ( if you google there are setups for lighttpd or nginx configs )
> suggest nginx and php-fpm
> suggest you install and enable pac