StarkJohan
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 5:26 pm

Re: Huawei E3131 on Wheezy

Mon Nov 18, 2013 10:23 pm

Can someone please show me where to buy the correct device. I've just tested with two different E3131 and they both show up as "ID 12d1:14fe Huawei Technologies Co., Ltd. " meaning they don't work. I can't get the web mode to work (I also get the 12d1:1506 ID after issuing "/usr/bin/sg_raw /dev/sr0 11 06 20 00 00 00 00 00 01 00") and the device won't show up as an eth device.

Code: Select all

usb0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 58:2c:80:13:92:63  
          inet addr:192.168.123.100  Bcast:192.168.123.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
If there is a way to get the 12d1:1506 modem into web mode that would be awesome but I can't seem to find any solution to this problem. I just wan't to get a working stick, where have you guys bought the working ones? There's a bunch on eBay but it's impossible to tell which ones will work and which ones will not and I don't want to buy 3-4 pcs. before I hit the "jackpot".

Mine says E3131s-2 but that seems to be the same for all the E3131's even if they are in fact not the same.
I got mine (which don't work) from this seller/auction so avoid if you're trying to use it with your pi: http://www.ebay.com/itm/271216576227?ss ... 1497.l2649
Last edited by StarkJohan on Mon Nov 18, 2013 10:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

chorlton2080
Posts: 124
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 9:44 pm

Re: Huawei E3131 on Wheezy

Mon Nov 18, 2013 10:33 pm

I bought mine from Three in the UK. It works well.

StarkJohan
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 5:26 pm

Re: Huawei E3131 on Wheezy

Mon Nov 18, 2013 10:36 pm

chorlton2080 wrote:I bought mine from Three in the UK. It works well.
But surely it must be locked to UK Three?

chorlton2080
Posts: 124
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 9:44 pm

Re: Huawei E3131 on Wheezy

Mon Nov 18, 2013 10:41 pm

Yes, undoubtedly. But since Three UK are generous with data I don't see that to be a problem. For 35 pounds I got the dongle and the first 3GB together. Are you outside the UK.

StarkJohan
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 5:26 pm

Re: Huawei E3131 on Wheezy

Mon Nov 18, 2013 10:49 pm

No, I'm not in the UK. I don't care about data either way as I'm trying to set up an sms gateway.

However, I just discovered that an unlocked E3231 might actually be a better choice when gambling. At least if this list is somewhat accurate: http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/3G_/_3.5G#HUAWEI

I've just ordered yet another €20 E3231 from eBay. Once I've tested it I'll post my results.

StarkJohan
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 5:26 pm

Re: Huawei E3131 on Wheezy

Sat Nov 23, 2013 4:14 pm

Today I received my new dongle and I can confirm that the E3231 bought from this eBay seller works with this method.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/141106194131?ss ... 1439.l2649

However, I'm wondering if the pin code entry can be automated in any way? I'm not running any desktop on the pi and I wish to enter the pin code without booting a desktop after each reboot. Would this be possible with the api perhaps?

dimaqq
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 1:00 pm

Re: Huawei E3131 on Wheezy

Wed Dec 18, 2013 1:02 pm

Can you post what kernel modules got loaded or are used?

I want to infer the protocol that is used in HiLink(?) mode to try an guess support in older linux kernels.

StarkJohan
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 5:26 pm

Re: Huawei E3131 on Wheezy

Wed Dec 18, 2013 4:27 pm

I would gladly do if I had any idea on how to check what kernel modules are loaded. Let me know commands you wan't the output from and I will get you the info.

dimaqq
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 1:00 pm

Re: Huawei E3131 on Wheezy

Wed Dec 18, 2013 5:25 pm

command is lsmod, look at use count for modules like usb*/*cdc*/*acm*/*rndis/*ether, or just post the relevant lines

magnusms
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2014 7:50 am

Re: Huawei E3131 on Wheezy

Tue Apr 29, 2014 8:00 am

Hello,
I recently bought some E3131 without SIM. Then I bought a complete one month prepaid from "3", that also included an E3131.
I could never get the single E3131 to work with 3:s SIM, but then I put the SIM in the E3131 that was included in the package.

Then it all went really easy, It shows up as an ethernet interface.
All you have to do is to edit the /etc/network/interfaces.

Here you add the following line (check the interface name with ifconfig):
iface eth1 inet dhcp

then write
sudo ifup eth1
on the prompt ( or restart the board)

Magnus

Mysh
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 2:24 pm

Re: Huawei E3131 on Wheezy

Mon Aug 04, 2014 2:01 pm

Hello,

anyone got the E3131h-2 version working as ethernet interface? Thanks!

jojo786
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2014 6:58 am

Re: Huawei E3131 on Wheezy

Tue Oct 14, 2014 7:04 am

Thanks. I used this to create a connection on MTN South Africa on a Pi B+. I plugged directly into the USB ports on the B+, without using a seperate powered USB hub.

dlxneamtu
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2014 1:24 am

Re: Huawei E3131 on Wheezy

Sun Jan 11, 2015 1:23 pm

Hi,

I am trying to install an E3131 on my raspbian (Linux raspberrypi 3.12.35+ #730 PREEMPT Fri Dec 19 18:31:24 GMT 2014 armv6l GNU/Linux) without luck.

I tried this guide and I get the following:

1. Initially when I connect the dongle I have the device in /dev/sr0 and the code:

Code: Select all

[email protected]:~$ lsusb
......
Bus 001 Device 010: ID 12d1:15ca Huawei Technologies Co., Ltd. 
2. I execute the command as indicated:

Code: Select all

[email protected]:~$ sudo /usr/bin/sg_raw /dev/sr0 11 06 20 00 00 00 00 00 01 00
SCSI Status: Good 

Sense Information:
sense buffer empty

[email protected]:~$ lsusb
.....
Bus 001 Device 011: ID 12d1:1506 Huawei Technologies Co., Ltd. E398 LTE/UMTS/GSM Modem/Networkcard
3. Now, I get a new interface, wan0, not eth1...It does not have any IP:

Code: Select all

wwan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 5e:ce:de:f2:c7:05  
          inet addr:192.168.123.100  Bcast:192.168.123.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
4. I manually assign it a static ip, but there is no web server I can access afterwards:

Code: Select all

wwan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 5e:ce:de:f2:c7:05  
          inet addr:192.168.1.1  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
Any ideas? I have already spent a lot of time on this and I feel like giving up...

Thanks,
Dan

fruitoftheloom
Posts: 20723
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:40 pm
Location: Delightful Dorset

Re: Huawei E3131 on Wheezy

Sun Jan 11, 2015 1:30 pm

dlxneamtu wrote:Hi,

I am trying to install an E3131 on my raspbian (Linux raspberrypi 3.12.35+ #730 PREEMPT Fri Dec 19 18:31:24 GMT 2014 armv6l GNU/Linux) without luck.

I tried this guide and I get the following:

1. Initially when I connect the dongle I have the device in /dev/sr0 and the code:

Code: Select all

[email protected]:~$ lsusb
......
Bus 001 Device 010: ID 12d1:15ca Huawei Technologies Co., Ltd. 
2. I execute the command as indicated:

Code: Select all

[email protected]:~$ sudo /usr/bin/sg_raw /dev/sr0 11 06 20 00 00 00 00 00 01 00
SCSI Status: Good 

Sense Information:
sense buffer empty

[email protected]:~$ lsusb
.....
Bus 001 Device 011: ID 12d1:1506 Huawei Technologies Co., Ltd. E398 LTE/UMTS/GSM Modem/Networkcard
3. Now, I get a new interface, wan0, not eth1...It does not have any IP:

Code: Select all

wwan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 5e:ce:de:f2:c7:05  
          inet addr:192.168.123.100  Bcast:192.168.123.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
4. I manually assign it a static ip, but there is no web server I can access afterwards:

Code: Select all

wwan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 5e:ce:de:f2:c7:05  
          inet addr:192.168.1.1  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
Any ideas? I have already spent a lot of time on this and I feel like giving up...

Thanks,
Dan
Might seem a sill question but do you not have to ""dialup"" to connect to your 3g ISP to authenticate :?:

https://www.thefanclub.co.za/how-to/how ... and-wvdial
Retired disgracefully.....

dlxneamtu
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2014 1:24 am

Re: Huawei E3131 on Wheezy

Mon Jan 12, 2015 1:41 pm

Thanks, I will give it a try in about two weeks and post the outcome. I remember trying this (but on rspbmc) and gettign stuck at step 3, hopefully it will go better on raspbian.

dan

PlanB
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 6:44 am

Re: Huawei E3131 on Wheezy

Tue Aug 25, 2015 12:25 am

Is there anyway I could get this working with a Huawei E169/620/800 12d1:1001 that loads as ttyUSB0 to ttyUSB1 ?

miki6211
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2015 9:58 am

Re: Huawei E3131 on Wheezy

Tue Sep 01, 2015 10:02 am

It works perfectly. Nevertheless I would like to know how the SCSI Command is created? why sending exactly "11 06 20 00 00 00 00 00 01 00" to the device? Where do you have this information from? I was looking for this information but didn't find anything. Trying to follow step by step this command with the SCSI manual didn't give me the answer niether.

FlashT
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2015 3:51 pm

Re: Huawei E3131 on Wheezy

Tue May 24, 2016 5:41 am

rcw wrote:Firstly, beware that the device can take more power than the Pi's USB port can deliver and so should always be attached via an external powered hub.
Any way to avoid that? I mean to connect it directly, but so it would work fine? I noticed that direct connection to USB causes problems indeed. Random freezes on really low signal.

Got 2.4A power supply... maybe `max_usb_current=1` would help? specs say that it uses max 3.5W... that means it's about 0.7A.... but lack of power for dongle shouldn't cause freezes? Or can it?

dgordon42
Posts: 764
Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2013 6:55 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: Huawei E3131 on Wheezy

Tue May 24, 2016 5:16 pm

The original post about the Pi being unable to power the Huawei E3131 was made in 2012, so the original poster would have been using a Pi model A or B. The power supply on these models is very limited on what it can supply, and can't handle USB hot plugging without crashing.

The Pi's power supply was redesigned for the model A+/B+, and I would expect a B+, or any more recent model, to power the E3131. If necessary, add "max_usb_current=1" to /boot/config.txt.

The above assumes that the 5V power converter and lead supplying the Pi are up to the job.

Dave.

FlashT
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2015 3:51 pm

Re: Huawei E3131 on Wheezy

Wed May 25, 2016 4:22 pm

I got the same on Jessie on RPI2 and 3... so it wasn't fixed.

Return to “Networking and servers”