Dwozzz

[Solved - I think???] Samba Permissions NAS nightmare!

Tue May 30, 2017 10:33 am

Background: I am a complete noob to this kind of computing - I've managed to get my Retro Pie working and this was relatively straight forward.

Problem: I followed this guide https://www.pi-supply.com/make/build-yo ... pberry-pi/ down to Step 13. But, instead of looking like the screenshots in the guide, my project looks like this...Image and I when I click next to try and get to database section it just loops me back to this page.

I'm using a raspberry pi zero w - could this be causing the problem as an Ethernet is required? If this is the case, is there a work around?

I'm trying to set up a folder that is accessible in the first instance on my network but then also share it online so my family can access it too. Its going to be a drop site for videos collected from my ip camera watching a bird box (Rock and Rll - I know :lol: )
The camera is all working but just needs to be pointed to a file server or network folder to drop the files.

Thanks for any help in advance.
Last edited by Dwozzz on Wed May 31, 2017 1:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Dwozzz

Re: Own Cloud (Apache, MySQL) - Followed a guide.

Wed May 31, 2017 1:20 pm

Okay, I've literally followed page 39 of this month's MagPi letter for letter and it's still not letting me access the folder?
https://www.raspberrypi.org/magpi-issues/MagPi58.pdf

I only made one difference and that was I mounted the usb dev to the dir created... I used:
sudo mount /dev/sda1 /share

Could this be the problem? I literally have no idea here :(

Dwozzz

Re: Own Cloud (Apache, MySQL) - Followed a guide.

Wed May 31, 2017 1:44 pm

Wow, wow, wow - I think it's finally working!!!!

I did a couple of extra things (Not my doing I read various guides from other people but thought it hadn't worked so closed all browsers down. After a sudo reboot it appeared this had worked?!? Sorry if this was your work - I'm not taking credit: