User avatar
ScottBouch
Posts: 146
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 12:32 pm
Location: Midlands, UK
Contact: Website

RDESKTOP - how do I set it up? - newbie...

Fri Sep 14, 2012 5:08 pm

I've been hunting around for some basic step-by-step guide on how to use rdesktop, but haven't really found much..

There seem to be people having fun with it, but they seem to be experienced linux users. I am not... so I'm missing out on the fun! :(

I want to be able to use my Pi to access other computers, rdesktop seems to work well from what I've read, but I can't find an idiots guide to configuring it and getting it working... I need a "type this", "now type this" type guide, a bit like the book: "learn python the hard way".

I've had it to the point where it tries to establish comms with my remote computers, but then it fails. :cry:

Remote computer Operating Systems: various versions of Windows Server.

Cheers, Scott
http://www.scottbouch.com

http://www.youtube.com/user/sbscottmonkey - - - YouTube Channel

User avatar
ScottBouch
Posts: 146
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 12:32 pm
Location: Midlands, UK
Contact: Website

Re: RDESKTOP - how do I set it up? - newbie...

Fri Sep 14, 2012 5:39 pm

And now in trying to use rdesktop directly after booting and logging in, (not in X and using a terminal as before) I've managed to bugger up my Operating System!!!!! ARGHHHH!!! :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

I'll take the opportunity to get hte latest version of Debian Squeeze, or perhaps Raspbian...? :?:

Just means I've now lost my "Learn Python The Hard Way" exercises - damn it... Should be: Learn Linux the Hard Way...
Broken Pi.jpg
Buggered X
Broken Pi.jpg (62.61 KiB) Viewed 2709 times
http://www.scottbouch.com

http://www.youtube.com/user/sbscottmonkey - - - YouTube Channel

User avatar
The Captain
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 5:14 pm
Location: UK East Midlands

Re: RDESKTOP - how do I set it up? - newbie...

Fri Sep 14, 2012 8:18 pm

You might find Remmina easier to use http://remmina.sourceforge.net/screenshots.shtml

Failing that VNC would be an alternative.

dancytron
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 11:09 pm

Re: RDESKTOP - how do I set it up? - newbie...

Fri Sep 14, 2012 9:07 pm

Rdesktop will only work in X. It doesn't work from the console. If it is set up properly, just type "rdesktop <ip number or hostname>" into terminal opened in X.

If you are using it to access a linux computer, you need to install xrpd and tightvncserver (or another vnc server) on the linux machine. If you are trying to access a windows machine, it has to be one that allows it (e.g. Windows XP Home doesn't, XP Pro does).

I've looked and there isn't a vnc client I could find that works from the terminal except directvnc, which isn't in debian wheezy/raspian. I compiled it and it didn't work very well anyway. See my post about directvnc about halfway down the page.

Rdesktop was the only remote client I could find that worked well.

User avatar
ScottBouch
Posts: 146
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 12:32 pm
Location: Midlands, UK
Contact: Website

Re: RDESKTOP - how do I set it up? - newbie...

Fri Sep 14, 2012 10:10 pm

dancytron wrote:Rdesktop will only work in X. It doesn't work from the console.
Damn right! it broke my X!!

Have downloaded Wheezy, and hopefully will have another crack at rdesktop next week. Are there any other components that need to be installed in order for it to work properly? Do I need to be running it as SUDO?

I'm going to persist with rdesktop as I need a fairly good screen refresh rate.

The computers I'm trying to remote desktop aren't on the same LAN, they are across the net, but I have their IP addresses. all running various (fairly modern) versions of Windows Server, and are configured for remote desktopping using windows machines. I wanted to see if I could use the Pi for the same purpose.

Thanks again guys, Scott.
http://www.scottbouch.com

http://www.youtube.com/user/sbscottmonkey - - - YouTube Channel

Return to “Networking and servers”