stevenwiner
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 7:29 pm
Location: South Africa

WiFi works only in command line

Mon Aug 06, 2012 9:19 pm

I am running Raspbian Wheezy with all updates and a Ralink 2800 series wifi dongle. I have followed various advice and managed to get my wifi running partly.
In the command line, my wifi works great, but once as I load the LXDE GUI, I can only connect to my router by manually plugging in the network cable. The wifi does not work. If I exit the LXDE GUI and run wicd or ifconfig, the wifi is working again in the command line.

Any advice?

User avatar
Jim JKla
Posts: 2218
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 11:15 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne UK

Re: WiFi works only in command line

Mon Aug 06, 2012 9:23 pm

Ok if it works from command line it has to be somthing simple blocking once you try from the GUI

How about Start the GUI open a terminal window and try the commands wicd and ifconfig.
Noob is not derogatory the noob is just the lower end of the noob--geek spectrum being a noob is just your first step towards being an uber-geek ;)

If you find a solution please post it in the wiki the forum dies too quick

stevenwiner
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 7:29 pm
Location: South Africa

Re: WiFi works only in command line

Tue Aug 07, 2012 4:57 pm

When I open a terminal window in the GUI and run wicd I get:

" It seems like the daemon is already running.
If it is not, please remove /var/run/wicd/wicd.pid and try again. "

When I run ifconfig in the terminal window in LXDE GUI I get:

" eth0 Link encap: Ethernet HWaddr .....
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU: 1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns: 0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns: 0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0,0 B) TX bytes:0 (0,0 B)

lo Link encap: Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:14 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns: 0 frame:0
TX packets:14 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns: 0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:1456 (1.4 KiB) TX bytes:1456 (1.4 KiB) "

User avatar
redhawk
Posts: 3465
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 2:13 pm
Location: ::1

Re: WiFi works only in command line

Tue Aug 07, 2012 5:09 pm

You need a powered USB hub the PI doesn't provide sufficient current for most wifi dongles.
Running X-Windows loads your power supply which is why your dongle probably survived in console mode.

Richard S.

stevenwiner
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 7:29 pm
Location: South Africa

Re: WiFi works only in command line

Tue Aug 07, 2012 5:24 pm

Hi Richard.

Thanks for the advice, but my hub is powered with a 5vDC 2 amp power supply.

Interesting point is that I can actually boot the Pi without using power onto the micro USB connector, just with the powered hub connected to USB1 and keyboard connected to USB2.

Mouse, flash drive and wifi dongle are plugged into the hub.

I usually connect the powered hub and immediately plug in the micro USB connector (1 amp 5vDC power supply) just to be sure.

User avatar
Lob0426
Posts: 2198
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 4:30 pm
Location: Susanville CA.
Contact: Website

Re: WiFi works only in command line

Tue Aug 07, 2012 6:04 pm

I have been using network-manager-gnome:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install network-manager-gnome
It allowed me to get WEP working and it works in CLI or in LXDE. It is available in squeeze, Wheezy and wheezyHF. Easy graphical setup in LXDE.
512MB version 2.0 as WordPress Server
Motorola Lapdock with Pi2B
Modded Rev 1.0 with pin headers at USB

http://rich1.dyndns.tv/
(RS)Allied ships old stock to reward its Customers for long wait!

stevenwiner
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 7:29 pm
Location: South Africa

Re: WiFi works only in command line

Tue Aug 07, 2012 6:35 pm

Hi Lob

Thanks for the advice.

I'll give it a try.

I can only use WEP, not WAP, as I have other mobile devices on the same router which only run under WEP encryption.

User avatar
mahjongg
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 12991
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2012 12:19 am
Location: South Holland, The Netherlands

Re: WiFi works only in command line

Tue Aug 07, 2012 6:45 pm

a consensus begins to emerge that there is indeed a software problem concerning loss of (WiFi) ethernet connectivity when a mouse driver starts being used.
AFAIK the foundation has asked someone with the necessary access and know how to look into it, several forum threads are discussing it. This problem, and the problem that the USB driver is inefficient and uses too much CPU power (up to 20%!) are being tackled simultaneously. Just be patient, this issue will be fixed sooner rather than later.

P.s. nevertheless a power issue can also be responsible for similar behaviour, but not when you are already powering the dongle with your HUB, it might be worth to try to use one of the low speed devices on the PI's other USB port. Some people think there are issues with charing high and low speed devices on a secondary hub (the PI has a primary hub inside).

User avatar
Jim JKla
Posts: 2218
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 11:15 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne UK

Re: WiFi works only in command line

Tue Aug 07, 2012 6:49 pm

Thanks sounds like you are looking at it :D

That has to be good news. ;)
Noob is not derogatory the noob is just the lower end of the noob--geek spectrum being a noob is just your first step towards being an uber-geek ;)

If you find a solution please post it in the wiki the forum dies too quick

stevenwiner
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 7:29 pm
Location: South Africa

Re: WiFi works only in command line

Tue Aug 07, 2012 8:22 pm

In response to Mahjong: a consensus begins to emerge that there is indeed a software problem concerning loss of (WiFi) ethernet connectivity when a mouse driver starts being used.

I found an interesting thing tonight: When using my regular optical 1000 dpi generic mouse, I boot all the way with no issues, but with my fancy 2400dpi laser gaming mouse (even on the powered USB hub) I get several network errors during bootup.

stevenwiner
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 7:29 pm
Location: South Africa

Re: WiFi works only in command line

Wed Aug 08, 2012 4:52 am

Hi again Lob

I tried network-manager-gnome

Installed via wifi from the command line perfectly (if a bit slowly-took around 15 minutes-I have a slow internet connection).
rebooted and saw no obvious errors on bootup.
loaded GUI and ran network-manager from the icon.
was shown :" No network found" and all options to add one were greyed out.

???

User avatar
Lob0426
Posts: 2198
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 4:30 pm
Location: Susanville CA.
Contact: Website

Re: WiFi works only in command line

Wed Aug 08, 2012 5:57 am

check here:
/etc/network/interfaces
anything that is spoken to here will be ignored by network manager, as stated in the instruction at.
http://wiki.debian.org/NetworkManager#E ... Management
here is where I had the problem below:
Wired Networks are Unmanaged

As of Debian Squeeze, NetworkManager does not manage any interface defined in /etc/network/interfaces by default.

Unmanaged devices means NetworkManager doesn't handle those network devices. This occurs when two conditions are met:
1.
The file /etc/network/interfaces contains anything about the interface, even:
allow-hotplug eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp
(that file probably has a reference to wlan0, so it becomes unmanaged; Lobo)
2.
And /etc/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.conf contains:
[main]
plugins=ifupdown,keyfile

[ifupdown]
managed=false


Since network-manager version 0.8.1-4, existing wired/wireless interfaces in /etc/network/interfaces are disabled with a #NetworkManager# prefix during package installation, then re-enabled when the network-manager package is removed (Debian bug 530024).

Enabling Interface Management

If you want NetworkManager to handle interfaces that are enabled in /etc/network/interfaces:

Set managed=true in /etc/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.conf.

Restart NetworkManager:
/etc/init.d/network-manager restart
give that a try!
512MB version 2.0 as WordPress Server
Motorola Lapdock with Pi2B
Modded Rev 1.0 with pin headers at USB

http://rich1.dyndns.tv/
(RS)Allied ships old stock to reward its Customers for long wait!

stevenwiner
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 7:29 pm
Location: South Africa

Re: WiFi works only in command line

Wed Aug 08, 2012 5:59 pm

Hi again Lob.

Tried your suggestion.

Still exactly the same. in command line wicd-curses gives a connection, can go online and download files etc.

As soon as I start the GUI, it pops up a message to say "No network connection"

???

User avatar
exartemarte
Posts: 376
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 3:51 pm
Location: Middle England
Contact: Website

Re: WiFi works only in command line

Wed Aug 08, 2012 6:29 pm

This isn't necessarily wifi related. I had the same problem - network okay from the command line but not when lxde was running - using a wired network connection.

The problem went away when I took the RPi power from a spare port on the hub, instead of from its own separate (but adequate) power supply. Several others have found the same thing. I can't explain this, except to theorise that problems can arise in the known-to-be-flaky usb area when the Pi and the hub are on slightly different voltages.

Might be worth a try.

stevenwiner
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 7:29 pm
Location: South Africa

Re: WiFi works only in command line

Wed Aug 08, 2012 8:10 pm

Hi exartemart

Thanks for the advice.
It did not solve my network issues, but made my power cabling much neater and easier to boot. Just one power cable to plug in instead of 2.

Thanks

stevenwiner
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 7:29 pm
Location: South Africa

Re: WiFi works only in command line

Sat Aug 18, 2012 12:49 pm

I found a solution which works apparently by disabling the onboard network driver. I have the powered hub in USB 1, the keyboard in USB 2 and the WiFi dongle and mouse in the powered hub. (Thanks to herrb):

by herrb » Thu Jul 19, 2012 10:24 am
You can also do it like this:

Disable:
CODE: SELECT ALL
sudo sh -c 'echo -n 1-1.1:1.0 > /sys/bus/usb/drivers/smsc95xx/unbind'

Re-enable:
CODE: SELECT ALL
sudo sh -c 'echo -n 1-1.1:1.0 > /sys/bus/usb/drivers/smsc95xx/bind'


IT WORKS GREAT !!!!
Now can anyone tell me how to make this automatic whenever I start LXDE, so I don't have to type it in the command line every time.

Cheers

Steve

nummy
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2012 12:07 am

Re: WiFi works only in command line

Mon Aug 20, 2012 11:04 pm

I have the opposite problem ... my WiFi doesn't work in command line, but works fine in LXDE :(

User avatar
pingu512
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 2:39 pm
Location: Chester
Contact: Website

Re: WiFi works only in command line

Fri Sep 07, 2012 1:48 pm

I have been having similar problems with the wifi working on the command line, but stopping in LXDE.
The problem appears to be the mouse. I can start LXDE without a mouse and the wifi continues to work. Plug the mouse in and it stops. The command line wifi works with or without the mouse.

User avatar
pingu512
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 2:39 pm
Location: Chester
Contact: Website

Re: WiFi works only in command line

Fri Sep 07, 2012 1:59 pm

Update
Tried a different mouse - no difference
Using powered hub
Start LXDE with mouse
open LX terminal
ping bbc.co.uk
no reply
unplug mouse
ping bbc.co.uk
ping works
plug in mouse
ping bbc.co.uk
no reply
unplug mouse
ping works

Return to “Networking and servers”