Paul_griff
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2012 9:23 pm

How do I make no-ip run at startup

Fri Aug 03, 2012 12:38 pm

I am running no-ip on my raspberry with no problems, but I need the exact command line to make it run at start up in case of my pi losing power. I have tried a couple of ways to get it to run at startup to no avail so need your help!
Apologies for all the stupid questions!

JeremyF
Posts: 515
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 9:06 pm
Contact: Website

Re: How do I make no-ip run at startup

Fri Aug 03, 2012 12:45 pm

http://elinux.org/RPi_Debian_Auto_Login

(Modified the instructions from here)

But instead of putting "startx" in /etc/profile , just put the command for starting no-ip.
{sig} Setup: Original version Raspberry Pi (B, rev1, 256MB), Dell 2001FP monitor (1600x1200), 8GB Class 4 SD Card with Raspbian and XBMC, DD-WRT wireless bridge

SirLagz
Posts: 1705
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 8:53 am
Location: Perth, Australia
Contact: Website

Re: How do I make no-ip run at startup

Fri Aug 03, 2012 3:25 pm

use noip2 via apt-get
it runs as a daemon and you won't need to worry about running it at manually.
Last edited by SirLagz on Fri Aug 03, 2012 3:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.
My Blog - http://www.sirlagz.net
Visit my blog for Tips, Tricks, Guides and More !
WiFi Issues ? Have a look at this post ! http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=44044

User avatar
LetHopeItsSnowing
Posts: 357
Joined: Sat May 26, 2012 6:40 am
Location: UK
Contact: Website

Re: How do I make no-ip run at startup

Fri Aug 03, 2012 3:32 pm

I have felt your pain, so much so I wrote it down, if you haven't done so already here is some info about how to install the no-ip client

http://stuffaboutcode.blogspot.co.uk/20 ... using.html

And here is the instructions for making it run at startup

http://stuffaboutcode.blogspot.co.uk/20 ... rt-up.html

LHIS
"am I getting slower, or is stuff more complicated; either way I now have to write it down - stuffaboutcode.com"

dmknob
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2012 3:19 am

Re: How do I make no-ip run at startup

Sun Aug 26, 2012 9:44 pm

I change the 2nd link script to run the Sakis3G and make a 3G connection.
If i manually run the script ('sakis3g connect', with the proper /etc/sakis3g.conf) it connects perfect.
With this startup method nothing occurs..

Any idea?

ps.: i use ddclient with no-ip service. Works fine when 3G connects (get the IP from ppp0).

ephestione
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2018 10:46 am

Re: How do I make no-ip run at startup

Wed Aug 15, 2018 8:15 pm

The problem with running automatically the noip DUC, either from rc.local or crontab @reboot, is that when those two are executed at system startup, the network interface isn't usually up yet, so noip will just terminate.
I solved this by delaying the start of the updater via SU crontab, with:

@reboot sleep 10 && /usr/local/bin/noip2

Return to “Networking and servers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests