PlanB
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 6:44 am

Huawei E169

Tue Aug 25, 2015 12:29 am

Does anybody know how to adapt viewtopic.php?f=36&t=18996&p=806992#p806992 to work with a Huawei E169/620/800 which loads as 12d1:1001 across ttyUSB0-ttyUSB2?

fruitoftheloom
Posts: 25699
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:40 pm
Location: Delightful Dorset

Re: Huawei E169

Tue Aug 25, 2015 11:08 am

PlanB wrote:Does anybody know how to adapt viewtopic.php?f=36&t=18996&p=806992#p806992 to work with a Huawei E169/620/800 which loads as 12d1:1001 across ttyUSB0-ttyUSB2?
https://github.com/sk-vpohybe/stopa-mon ... -E620-E800


https://shkspr.mobi/blog/2012/07/3g-int ... pi-success

http://www.sakis3g.com
The information is out there....you just have to let it in.

My other Linux machines are a ChromeBox & Intel CoreDuo Desktop

PlanB
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 6:44 am

Re: Huawei E169

Wed Aug 26, 2015 2:22 am

Thnx for the links but I've tried then already. Sakis terminates early when it gets an error response to a pin request & wvdial connects OK but hangs after the 2nd ary DNS is issued. I was hoping I could maybe get somewhere with Huawei's HiLink.

fruitoftheloom
Posts: 25699
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:40 pm
Location: Delightful Dorset

Re: Huawei E169

Wed Aug 26, 2015 6:09 am

PlanB wrote:Thnx for the links but I've tried then already. Sakis terminates early when it gets an error response to a pin request & wvdial connects OK but hangs after the 2nd ary DNS is issued. I was hoping I could maybe get somewhere with Huawei's HiLink.
If you have a RPi B+ or later, you could increase the USB BUS from 600ma to 1200ma if you have a decent 5V2A PSU

https://projects.drogon.net/testing-set ... berry-pi-b
The information is out there....you just have to let it in.

My other Linux machines are a ChromeBox & Intel CoreDuo Desktop

PlanB
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 6:44 am

Re: Huawei E169

Fri Aug 28, 2015 3:24 am

Nah not a power supply problem, I've jigged it so the red power light doesn't flicker. Just out of my depth I think, heaps harder than WiFi. Mr. Engman you need to bring your deft hand to this me thinks!

PlanB
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 6:44 am

Re: Huawei E169

Sat Aug 29, 2015 8:16 am

The device is recognised

Code: Select all

Bus 001 Device 002: ID 0424:9514 Standard Microsystems Corp. 
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0424:ec00 Standard Microsystems Corp. 
Bus 001 Device 008: ID 045e:0750 Microsoft Corp. Wired Keyboard 600
Bus 001 Device 012: ID 12d1:1001 Huawei Technologies Co., Ltd. E169/E620/E800 HSDPA Modem
& properly connected

Code: Select all

[   23.070167] usbserial: USB Serial support registered for GSM modem (1-port)
[   23.076875] option 1-1.4:1.0: GSM modem (1-port) converter detected
[   23.129662] usb 1-1.4: GSM modem (1-port) converter now attached to ttyUSB0
[   23.147071] option 1-1.4:1.1: GSM modem (1-port) converter detected
[   23.208793] usb 1-1.4: GSM modem (1-port) converter now attached to ttyUSB1
[   23.221767] option 1-1.4:1.2: GSM modem (1-port) converter detected
[   23.274769] usb 1-1.4: GSM modem (1-port) converter now attached to ttyUSB2
[   23.382577] scsi 5:0:0:0: Direct-Access     WCDMA    MMC Storage      2.31 PQ: 0 ANSI: 2
[   23.410017] sd 5:0:0:0: Attached scsi generic sg0 type 0
strangely though I can't seem to get to it to try some AT cmds

Code: Select all

root@harbinger:/home/pi# /dev/ttyUSB0
bash: /dev/ttyUSB0: Permission denied
root@harbinger:/home/pi# sudo /dev/tty/USB0
sudo: /dev/tty/USB0: command not found

fruitoftheloom
Posts: 25699
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:40 pm
Location: Delightful Dorset

Re: Huawei E169

Sat Aug 29, 2015 8:28 am

Is the device being set to a USB Mass Storage Device ?

usb_modeswitch toggles device state:

http://manpages.ubuntu.com/manpages/kar ... tch.1.html
The information is out there....you just have to let it in.

My other Linux machines are a ChromeBox & Intel CoreDuo Desktop

PlanB
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 6:44 am

Re: Huawei E169

Sun Aug 30, 2015 1:49 am

It's in modem mode, the problem seems to be the default route. Normally pppd would end with something like

Code: Select all

--> secondary DNS address 85.237.225.250
--> pppd: [10]gv[01]
--> pppd: [10]gv[01]
--> Script /etc/ppp/ip-up run successful
--> Default route Ok.
Mine ends with

Code: Select all

not replacing existing default route via 10.0.0.138
local  IP address 10.168.205.247
remote IP address 10.64.64.64
primary   DNS address 10.4.81.103
secondary DNS address 10.4.182.20
Script /etc/ppp/ip-up started (pid 3040)
Script /etc/ppp/ip-up finished (pid 3040), status = 0x0
The existing default route is my wifi router but i can't figure out why it still wants to use that because I've modified /etc/network/interfaces for the 3g dongle

Code: Select all

iface ppp0 inet wvdial
allow hotplug wwan0
iface wwan0 inet dhcp

Return to “Networking and servers”