ShakeSpear

KVM?

Wed Mar 11, 2015 9:35 pm

Hey guys. Before you say anything, I want to let you know that I am still learning about this. I am a networking student and this is just so fascinating! Anyways. I have a home brewed web server and its running flawlessly, as an experiment, I want to do the server re-installation thing that services like online.net have. I have no idea what it is called but I did talk to a friend a long time ago and he said something about KVM so I wanted to know more about it. What came up on Google wasn't really helpful because it didn't explain what it did right or it wasn't what I am looking for.

So if I want to reinstall a server via its web-ui (or even through command line), what steps do I have to take to do this without having to pull out the sd card each time and do it manually. There has to be a way to do this any other way.

yoyellow

Re: KVM?

Thu Mar 12, 2015 10:55 am

You mean like virtualization ? the RPI has very limited resources and virtualization needs quite a bit to run smoothly.

Maybe a better bet will be something like virtualbox on a normal computer or laptop.

ShakeSpear

Thu Mar 12, 2015 11:16 pm

Well I dont want to virtualize anything. All I will be doing is SSHing into the server. That is it. No need for graphical interface of any kind.

ghans

Fri Mar 13, 2015 6:37 am

I am pretty sure your friend meant virtualization .
KVM means Kernel-based virtual machine.

It's how "resetting" is handled on many commercial
serverfarms, you just need to delete a single file to reset a
whole virtual machine .

You do realize that virtualization has nothing to do with
graphical interfaces ? Both your host and guest systems might
only be accessible via SSH (AFAIK this even the most common setup).

ghans
• Don't like the board ? Missing features ? Change to the prosilver theme ! You can find it in your settings.