dennispi

XBMC, Do you guys ever turn off your Pi?

Mon Feb 11, 2013 9:04 pm

I'm just waiting for my Pi to arrive in the mail :D , my question is I want to make my Pi dedicated to XBMC only. I was curious if you guys ever turn off your PIs or do you just leave it on 24/7? I tried researching but I'm getting a lot of mixed answers. Also a lot of people mentioning the SD card wearing out quick if the PI is on 24/7. What is quick? I don't mind changing the SD card every year or two.

Thanks so much!!

RobHenry

Re: XBMC, Do you guys ever turn off your Pi?

Mon Feb 11, 2013 11:42 pm

I have a pi dedicated to xbmc (with the openelec os) permanently switched on hanging from a cable behind my TV. It only goes down for a reboot if it's playing up or for a software update.

SD card wear is presumably caused by the amount of i/o, not uptime (but I am no expert in that area!).

Trixster

Tue Feb 12, 2013 8:09 am

24/7

XBMC is installed on a USB stick so the SD card gets minimal usage.

mathewjenkinson

Tue Feb 12, 2013 9:42 am

Hi Trixster, How do you do that?
I take it you boot SD card and then hand over to a USB stick for the OS and XBMC?

Can you post a how to?

Many thanks!
Mathew
Trixster wrote:24/7

ski522

Tue Feb 12, 2013 11:58 am

And why wouldn't wear on a USB stick not apply? Most sticks I know use the same NAND.

I've been here since September and outside of the occasional corruption of an SD card...mostly due to improper shutdown (ie just pulling the plug) I've seen few post of people complaining their SD card was destroyed because of I/O writes.

DevonPaul

Tue Feb 12, 2013 7:56 pm

I have just spent DAYS configuring my RPi. Next step = XBMC. I was gutted to find that the preferred options appear to Raspbmc or OpenELEC which both are a 'from scratch' build :cry:

I have a hard drive for media in a USB connected enclosure so the ability to install XBMC to a partition on that would be fantastic.