Peakoverload

Accessing iTunes via Raspberry Pi Alexa?

Mon Jul 01, 2019 11:14 am

Total newbie here, I don't even yet own a Raspberry Pi. I do however have a couple of ideas for projects but despite reading loads of guides and watching dozens of video tutorials I'm still a little unclear on what is actually achievable and so am holding off buying kit until I know more.

I have an idea for a project to help a family member with a debilitating condition. Part of that would use technology that already exists but present it in a more simplified and suitable way, the other part requires programming and more use of GPIO funcitons. As a way of working out how to do this I first want to try building a different project that uses some of this existing technology.

So I want to use a 'digital assistant' like Alexa, Siri, or Google Assistant but ideally I need it to be able stream music not only from iTunes but from iTunes Match. I might consider using Apple Music instead if iTunes Match simply isn't possible but it's an extra expense I could do without.

The vast majority of my iTunes library consists of around 300 CD's I've ripped and so is DRM free. I've probably bought less than 50 albums from iTunes and if I could only access these via Alexa then there's pretty much no point

From what I can gather, Siri won't run on a Pi but Alexa and Google will. However it looks like Google can't access iTunes whereas Alexa can but there seems to be a difference of opinion on exactly what Alexa can access.

Has anyone managed to access music in their iTunes Match through Alexa running on a Pi in the UK?

Failing that one other thing I would be prepared to do is to copy my music library onto a an external drive that is then connected to the Pi.