morcego

Audio Stream "Radio" Box

Tue May 28, 2019 8:06 am

Hello guys, my name's Pedro, and i recently started a project to create a sort of Portable Audio Station using the Raspberry (i'm a newbie).

The installation went ok, but since the Raspberry will be in a closed box, i installed VLC so i could connect via mobile app to control what the raspberry plays in VLC, i'm currently using VLC Mobile Remote.

The first problem was to load on boot the vlc, so i did the next steps:

Edit “/etc/rc.local”

$ sudo nano /etc/rc.local
Before “exit 0” type line below. “su - pi -c” makes it run as user pi, and not root. VLC refuses to run as root. Remember quote marks around the vlc string. “cvlc” runs VLC without command line interface.

(sleep 5; su - pi -c "cvlc playlist.m3u") &

Doing this, i was manage to boot on startup the command version of VLC, and it interacts with the VLC Mobile Remote, but when i close the app on the mobile it shuts down the VLC app, and that's where the "problem" start , to relaunch the VLC either i start it manually or i'll boot up again the raspberry pi so the vlc can be active again, what i need, and am not able to do, is, if we close the VLC app it loads again without being forced to a new boot of the machine, since, the project is to put the raspberry pi in a closed box without direct access, to it to launch it manually.

Is there anyway to force a load VLC app everytime it closes, kind of like "explorer in Windows".

Thank you guys

DarrenHill

Re: Audio Stream "Radio" Box

Thu May 30, 2019 6:23 pm

If you're just wanting a music player, can I suggest you look at something like Volumio or Pi Music Box as dedicated systems? There are a few other options out there as well if you feel like having a search using your engine of choice.