User avatar
Paul Webster
Posts: 755
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 4:49 am
Location: London, UK

Re: New TV Tuner from HQ

Fri Oct 19, 2018 6:22 pm

... and shipping packaging shows uHat (can’t find the micro symbol on phone keyboard) confirming the new name.

User avatar
bensimmo
Posts: 3329
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 3:02 pm
Location: East Yorkshire

Re: New TV Tuner from HQ

Fri Oct 19, 2018 6:51 pm

Paul Webster wrote:
Fri Oct 19, 2018 6:22 pm
... and shipping packaging shows uHat (can’t find the micro symbol on phone keyboard) confirming the new name.
Google Keyboard (Gboard)
Then find the screen with the Greek symbols along the top, hold down π for a bit and you get to select μ

DarkPlatinum
Posts: 431
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2017 2:30 pm
Contact: Website

Re: New TV Tuner from HQ

Fri Oct 19, 2018 6:58 pm

How much beter is this from this since they are similarly priced ?https://shop.pimoroni.com/products/mini ... l-tv-stick
1 * Raspberry Pi Zero W, 1 * Raspberry Pi 2, 1 * Raspberry Pi 3 1 * Raspberry Pi 3B + :mrgreen:

fruitoftheloom
Posts: 17630
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:40 pm

Re: New TV Tuner from HQ

Fri Oct 19, 2018 7:38 pm

DarkPlatinum wrote:
Fri Oct 19, 2018 6:58 pm
How much beter is this from this since they are similarly priced ?https://shop.pimoroni.com/products/mini ... l-tv-stick

When I had a RPi 1B+ did try a similar TV Stick, but experienced power issues and picture lag. The OS was Raspbian Wheezy.
Adieu

DarkPlatinum
Posts: 431
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2017 2:30 pm
Contact: Website

Re: New TV Tuner from HQ

Fri Oct 19, 2018 7:40 pm

fruitoftheloom wrote:
Fri Oct 19, 2018 7:38 pm
DarkPlatinum wrote:
Fri Oct 19, 2018 6:58 pm
How much beter is this from this since they are similarly priced ?https://shop.pimoroni.com/products/mini ... l-tv-stick

When I had a RPi 1B+ did try a similar TV Stick, but experienced power issues and picture lag. The OS was Raspbian Wheezy.
Might be rpi fault or tuner fault?
1 * Raspberry Pi Zero W, 1 * Raspberry Pi 2, 1 * Raspberry Pi 3 1 * Raspberry Pi 3B + :mrgreen:

gordon77
Posts: 3412
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 3:12 pm

Re: New TV Tuner from HQ

Fri Oct 19, 2018 8:33 pm

DarkPlatinum wrote:
Fri Oct 19, 2018 6:58 pm
How much beter is this from this since they are similarly priced ?https://shop.pimoroni.com/products/mini ... l-tv-stick
The hat does DVB-T2, HD.

fruitoftheloom
Posts: 17630
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:40 pm

Re: New TV Tuner from HQ

Fri Oct 19, 2018 8:57 pm

DarkPlatinum wrote:
Fri Oct 19, 2018 7:40 pm
fruitoftheloom wrote:
Fri Oct 19, 2018 7:38 pm
DarkPlatinum wrote:
Fri Oct 19, 2018 6:58 pm
How much beter is this from this since they are similarly priced ?https://shop.pimoroni.com/products/mini ... l-tv-stick

When I had a RPi 1B+ did try a similar TV Stick, but experienced power issues and picture lag. The OS was Raspbian Wheezy.
Might be rpi fault or tuner fault?

Not either, the TV Stick was OK on W7 PC, whilst the RPi was working AOK !!
Adieu

riggo
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2018 2:21 pm

Re: New TV Tuner from HQ

Sat Oct 20, 2018 11:05 am

jamesh wrote:
Fri Oct 19, 2018 2:45 pm
riggo wrote:
Fri Oct 19, 2018 2:29 pm
recieved my tv hat this afternoon, followed the tutorial on PiHut to set up Tvheadend but the hat seems to kill the Pi's wifi, when the hat is removed the Pi connects to the network no problem, happens with Pi0w and Pi3. haven't tried ethernet yet, need to investigate further, hope I've not got a duff.
That sounds like a power supply problem. What are you using?
I'm using official 2 amp pi power supply

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 34148
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website

Re: New TV Tuner from HQ

Sat Oct 20, 2018 11:13 am

Do you get the yellow lightning bolt on the top right of your screen?
Run a dmesg | grep under command, do you see

Code: Select all

[54163.601735] Under-voltage detected! (0x00050000)
Is the header for the μHAT aligned correctly with your RPi?

Which RPi gets the problem?
Is your "RPi3" an original RPi3B or a newer (and more power hungry) RPi3B+? The 3B+ won't run on a 2A supply it needs 2.5A.
Microprocessor, Raspberry Pi & Arduino Hacker
Mainframe database troubleshooter
MQTT Evangelist
Twitter: @DougieLawson

2012-18: 1B*5, 2B*2, B+, A+, Z, ZW, 3Bs*3, 3B+

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.

fruitoftheloom
Posts: 17630
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:40 pm

Re: New TV Tuner from HQ

Sat Oct 20, 2018 12:02 pm

riggo wrote:
Sat Oct 20, 2018 11:05 am
jamesh wrote:
Fri Oct 19, 2018 2:45 pm
riggo wrote:
Fri Oct 19, 2018 2:29 pm
recieved my tv hat this afternoon, followed the tutorial on PiHut to set up Tvheadend but the hat seems to kill the Pi's wifi, when the hat is removed the Pi connects to the network no problem, happens with Pi0w and Pi3. haven't tried ethernet yet, need to investigate further, hope I've not got a duff.
That sounds like a power supply problem. What are you using?
I'm using official 2 amp pi power supply

5.1V 2.5A is the official PSU:

https://www.raspberrypi.org/products/ra ... er-supply/
Adieu

User avatar
MrWheeliebin
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 12:13 am
Location: Wheeliebinland

Re: New TV Tuner from HQ

Sat Oct 20, 2018 12:47 pm

Got mine and set it up on a Pi 2 with Freeview aerial and wire based LAN cable. I can see/hear channels on my Windows box via the AMAZING web app however the video stream stops and starts a lot. Anybody else getting this? I'd think the data stream would be circa 9mbps tops even for HD. Even on my crappy network this should be ok. No picture tearing or noise so I think it really is just bandwidth issues.

Smudged
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2016 10:19 am

Re: New TV Tuner from HQ

Sat Oct 20, 2018 1:14 pm

Hmmm...

I'm having a spot of bother with my new toy.

Installed on a Pi 3B running Stretch fully updated with tvheadend & kodi installed.

The tvheadend wizard pretend do a channel search but fails to find muxes on 2 out of 6 channels and only the DVB-T2 (DTG6) muxes on another channel. Result: only 42 services out of over 100 available.

I have several TVs and devices around the house and they are all happy to find everything that is on offer from my local transmitter - Midhurst at Bexley Hill. in fact the signal from Midhurst is sufficiently strong that I could almost get a good picture with a piece of wet string hanging out of the aerial socket! Maybe the signal is too strong for the front-end of the uhat?

To sumaries: tvheadend fails to find any DTG3 muxes on channel 55 & 56; it finds some DTG8 muxes on channels 54 & 59; fails to find any DTG8 muxes on channel 50.

The services it does find have dreadful sound/vision sync when watched in the web browser of the iMac I use to run the setup. The picture also pixelates at random.

So not a very successful project thus far.

Any suggestions as to how to get the full channel search to work?

Cheers

Edit: I've just realised that the channel list that tvheadend pulls up for Midhurst is way out of date. It makes no mention of channels 29. 33 & 48 where most of the services reside.

I'll have to learn how to add channels & muxes manually. It doesn't seem very intuitive though.

Edit: 16:50 OK, found my own salvation! I edited the file '/usr/share/dvb/dvb-t/uk-Midhurst' to reflect the current channel situation and the tvheadend Wizard now correctly finds 124 services on 12 muxes.

However the sound/picture sync is still dreadful using a web browser on the system used to set up the uHAT. I'll try another way of viewing ...

Edit: 24-Oct 12:14 OK all working fine. Downloaded the LibreELEC pared-down OS image ( https://libreelec.tv/downloads/ ) which I copied to an 8GB uSD card. Married the TV Tuner to a RPi Zero W and configured the tvheadend to use my local transmitter (Midhurst).

Had to do a lot of editing of muxes etc to get all the services working. But all worth it as I could use the system to replace my old Tivizen tuner which ceased working when the company went belly-up!

Using Kodi on my iMac to watch live TV - yes I have a TV licence though I'm now eligible for a free licence. There are a few advantages to old age! :-)
Last edited by Smudged on Wed Oct 24, 2018 11:24 am, edited 2 times in total.

gordon77
Posts: 3412
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 3:12 pm

Re: New TV Tuner from HQ

Sat Oct 20, 2018 2:17 pm

DougieLawson wrote:
Fri Oct 19, 2018 5:31 pm
https://thepihut.com/products/flirc-usb ... spberry-pi looks like it's designed for the job (although it costs the same as the DVB TV μHAT).
Looks good. Thanks

User avatar
rpiMike
Posts: 524
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 12:38 pm
Location: Cumbria, UK

Re: New TV Tuner from HQ

Sat Oct 20, 2018 2:39 pm

I manually set the following settings when adding standard definition muxes:

Image

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 34148
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website

Re: New TV Tuner from HQ

Sat Oct 20, 2018 3:22 pm

I found I could only force a full scale rescan by deleting the /var/lib/hts/.hts and all of it's contents then reconfiguring tvheadend with dpkg-reconfigure tvheadend
Microprocessor, Raspberry Pi & Arduino Hacker
Mainframe database troubleshooter
MQTT Evangelist
Twitter: @DougieLawson

2012-18: 1B*5, 2B*2, B+, A+, Z, ZW, 3Bs*3, 3B+

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.

User avatar
MrWheeliebin
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 12:13 am
Location: Wheeliebinland

Re: New TV Tuner from HQ

Sat Oct 20, 2018 4:58 pm

My problem is that I am using a humble Pi Zero W with the Hat but viewing the video elsewhere (eg on a Mac). Problem is that the video is horrendously slow and stops and stutters.

I think the "Watch TV" video player on the web interface performs transcoding at the head end (Pi). That is to say it will re-encode the stream as one of the formats offered in the drop down list. Very handy if you are running this on a pentium but not a tiny Pi Zero W.
However, when I hit the 'i' icon in the EPG it offers to play natively on my Mac and I have no issues.

Problem is the HD channels are not listed in the EPG. Anyone know why that may be?

I feel I'm almost there with this. If I can get it to work it will be a massively useful thing in the house.

Is there any way to just get all these streams listed in something like VLC?

User avatar
rpiMike
Posts: 524
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 12:38 pm
Location: Cumbria, UK

Re: New TV Tuner from HQ

Sat Oct 20, 2018 5:13 pm

In vlc player 'File', 'Open Network', enter URL http://<tvheadendserver>:9981/playlist/channels

This should add all channels to your vlc playlist.

User avatar
MrWheeliebin
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 12:13 am
Location: Wheeliebinland

Re: New TV Tuner from HQ

Sat Oct 20, 2018 6:11 pm

Aha! If I use Kodi as a client and install the TVheadend add-on all is EXCELLENT. Full HD. OMG this is so very cool.

DarkPlatinum
Posts: 431
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2017 2:30 pm
Contact: Website

Re: New TV Tuner from HQ

Sat Oct 20, 2018 6:23 pm

What channels can you get from freeview anyway? anything worth watcing?
1 * Raspberry Pi Zero W, 1 * Raspberry Pi 2, 1 * Raspberry Pi 3 1 * Raspberry Pi 3B + :mrgreen:

fruitoftheloom
Posts: 17630
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:40 pm

Re: New TV Tuner from HQ

Sat Oct 20, 2018 6:25 pm

DarkPlatinum wrote:
Sat Oct 20, 2018 6:23 pm
What channels can you get from freeview anyway? anything worth watcing?

https://www.freeview.co.uk/tv-guide
Adieu

DarkPlatinum
Posts: 431
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2017 2:30 pm
Contact: Website

Re: New TV Tuner from HQ

Sat Oct 20, 2018 6:26 pm

fruitoftheloom wrote:
Sat Oct 20, 2018 6:25 pm
DarkPlatinum wrote:
Sat Oct 20, 2018 6:23 pm
What channels can you get from freeview anyway? anything worth watcing?

https://www.freeview.co.uk/tv-guide
Thanks.
1 * Raspberry Pi Zero W, 1 * Raspberry Pi 2, 1 * Raspberry Pi 3 1 * Raspberry Pi 3B + :mrgreen:

hippy
Posts: 3908
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2011 10:34 pm
Location: UK

Re: New TV Tuner from HQ

Sat Oct 20, 2018 7:42 pm

DarkPlatinum wrote:
Fri Oct 19, 2018 6:58 pm
How much beter is this from this since they are similarly priced ?https://shop.pimoroni.com/products/mini ... l-tv-stick
Can't comment on that but the link from that page to something cheap (£10/£12-inc-VAT) which can do ADS-B real-time plane tracking is of interest to me seeing as I can't get a decent DVB-T signal where I am, and don't do streaming anyway, but am just a few miles from an international airport and under an incoming flight path -

https://shop.pimoroni.com/products/dvb- ... e-tracking

DarkPlatinum
Posts: 431
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2017 2:30 pm
Contact: Website

Re: New TV Tuner from HQ

Sat Oct 20, 2018 8:14 pm

gordon77 wrote:
Sat Oct 20, 2018 2:17 pm
DougieLawson wrote:
Fri Oct 19, 2018 5:31 pm
https://thepihut.com/products/flirc-usb ... spberry-pi looks like it's designed for the job (although it costs the same as the DVB TV μHAT).
Looks good. Thanks
Expensive no?
1 * Raspberry Pi Zero W, 1 * Raspberry Pi 2, 1 * Raspberry Pi 3 1 * Raspberry Pi 3B + :mrgreen:

DarkPlatinum
Posts: 431
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2017 2:30 pm
Contact: Website

Re: New TV Tuner from HQ

Sat Oct 20, 2018 8:15 pm

hippy wrote:
Sat Oct 20, 2018 7:42 pm
DarkPlatinum wrote:
Fri Oct 19, 2018 6:58 pm
How much beter is this from this since they are similarly priced ?https://shop.pimoroni.com/products/mini ... l-tv-stick
Can't comment on that but the link from that page to something cheap (£10/£12-inc-VAT) which can do ADS-B real-time plane tracking is of interest to me seeing as I can't get a decent DVB-T signal where I am, and don't do streaming anyway, but am just a few miles from an international airport and under an incoming flight path -

https://shop.pimoroni.com/products/dvb- ... e-tracking
Did you mean you can, or can't get a good signal? Im planning on buying that one for flight tracking and getting a free business account with flightradar24 :)
1 * Raspberry Pi Zero W, 1 * Raspberry Pi 2, 1 * Raspberry Pi 3 1 * Raspberry Pi 3B + :mrgreen:

horiz0n
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 12, 2016 2:12 pm

Re: New TV Tuner from HQ

Sat Oct 20, 2018 8:23 pm

Quick question: is it possible to stream to the local network as multicast? If yes how many channels at a time?

Return to “Media centres”